We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful awful awful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We've previously stayed in this chain of hotels before but in Boone. Had a wonderful experience so I figured we would shell out the extra $ to stay here versus on the island for the same price. Boy was I wrong!! We checked in and noticed they were renovating (had not been told) and also the front desk area was disgusting! Greasy hand prints everywhere! We go up to our room and the floor looks like it has never been vacuumed.. There's no towels and there were several hairs and food crumbs on our bed! We left for the day to attend a rehearsal for the wedding we were visiting for & asked very nice of they could change our sheets & told them our problems. (This was at 3pm and we returned at midnight) and the sheets were not changed and had no towels still. My husband went to get some so we could shower... We stood in water and could not shower because the tub was filling up and it appeared not cleaned at all! It was absolutely disgusting!!! Luckily our family (who was getting married) offered is to stay with them in their beach house because we could not stand anothe night! We called the hotel to tell them we needed out money back & we would be staying elsewhere & told them out concerns and they didn't seem to care. Also can we just say we got back to our room to get our belongings and our door was perched open with a trash can and nobody was in there or anywhere to be seen.... While ALL of our belongings were still on our room! Just terrible experience and I have never had this bad of service to write a review! I would spend your money elsewhere if you could help it!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victoriaccasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Victoriaccasper,

Thank your for your review regarding our hotel.

I am disappointed to hear your troubles during your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that our level of cleanliness didn't live up to your expectations. Our staff always ensure that our amenities are of superior quality and we deeeply regret for we were not able to deliver on this ocassion. I apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort this has caused you.

Thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

I was in Morehead City, NC for a week on business. The hotel was/is recently being remodeled and close to shopping, resturants, Beaufort and Atlantic Beach. All of the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor have been remodeled, staff were friendly and breakfast was included.

Room Tip: The 1st floor is still under renovation ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Millette m,

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review of your stay! We have finished renovations and hope you get the opportunity to come back to Morehead City and stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We decided to come to Morehead City on a Friday before we checked in to a condo on the beach for a week. We reserved two rooms and got a good price on them. We had stayed at this hotel years ago when it first opened and had expected it to be up to those standards. Well, it wasn't.....but it looks like it is on the way to making it back to that level.

The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the location is still good and the little breakfast bar was pretty good. (I would have liked some more healthy breakfast options, though.) It was disappointing to have the lobby in such disarray, though, and to have uncovered holes in the walls. The furniture in the dining area wasn't arranged well due to construction and the swimming pool was out of order. (I didn't want to swim, but thought it was just another eye sore visible from the lobby.)

Will I try this hotel again? Yes. Was it a four or five star stay this time? No.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Jill S,

Thank your for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. I am happy to read that you found our rooms to be clean and the beds to be comfortable.

However, I am sorry to hear about your discomforts regarding our lobby and swimming pool. My sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you. Nevertheless, I am happy to inform you that our public areas have already been renovated with the goal of providing an environment of comfort and value to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again and show you what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The hotel is under renovation..It needs it. We have stayed here several times and have alway had a good experience..This time..NOT.....The first floor is being remodeled and is a mess...We went into our room and the desk chair was broken...sits about 8 inches from floor and wont adjust. Turned the a/c on and found the thermostate adjustment did not work...was stripped out. Then noticed the clock radio didnt work (clerk got us another one). Went to take a shower and stood in 3 inches of water...shower curtin was too short so the water ended up on floor which was very dirty. Towels and wah cloths were stained. Went down to fitness room to work out and the same sign that was on the door last year was still there....OUT OF ORDER, go to front desk and get a pass to golds gym. Well that didnt work for me as my husband had the car to attend business meetings...

Room Tip: Hopefully after renovation this hotel will be back up to standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Diane S,

Thank you for your candid review of our property. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are truly sorry for the problems you experienced in your room during your recent stay. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for your poor experience.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Short one night stay, but have been here before. Great bed, clean, nice staff, good TV and decent wifi.
All smoke free which is nice. They are currently doing remodeling so that had it's pain.
Will stay each time I come to town on business. Great location and well run hotel.

You HAVE to eat at Smithsons Chicken down the road. Local NC chain with killer fried chicken and bbq (In NC, BBQ means pulled pork). Both Excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Bret G,

Thank you for taking time to post such a kind review! We appreciate your feedback and glad you had a pleasant stay. The renovations are now over and we hope you have either been back recently or plan to come back soon to see.

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. Check-in was fast, staff friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean, bed was comfortable. Continental breakfast was standard (would have liked a few more choices for fruit and healthier options). Overall a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humerus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear humerus,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you had a great stay. We hope you will stay with us again when you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Great front desk staff! Lauren was very helpful with suggestions. The hotel was under renovation. The hot morning breakfast was very good. The hotel is about 4 miles from several excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Bruce J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay! We are pleased to know you enjoyed our hotel even though it was under renovations. We are finished with renovations now and hope you get the opportunity to come back and stay with us again and enjoy some of the wonderful restaurants Morehead City has to offer.

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
644 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
428 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
#5 of 5 in Morehead City
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morehead City

Address: 5063 Executive Dr, Morehead City, NC 28557-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range: £69 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morehead City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Morehead City, NC, welcomes all travelers near and far. For business or leisure, we are a premier, family friendly, business minded hotel. Our Morehead City, NC hotel has small town charm in close proximity to the Crystal Coast. Attractions: Ocracoke Island, Cedar Island, Outer Banks, Ocean, Indian Beach, Harkers Island, sports fishing, golfing, Croatan National Forest, Cape Lookout Light House, Maritime Museum, Fort Macon, Midnight Rodeo, Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium, OBX fishing, Charter Fishing, Crystal Coast Atlantic Jamboree, Olympus Diving, and the Big Rock Fishing Tournament. Nearby cities: Morehead City, Swansboro, NC, Beaufort, Havelock, Ocracoke, Cedar Island, NC, Carteret County, Crystal Coast, Emerald Isle, Pine Knoll ,NC, Salter Path NC, and Harkers Island. Local businesses: Henrys, Farm Bureau, IFH, Lowes, Wal-Mart, Progress Energy, Vertex Aerospace, Big Rock Sports, Carteret General Hospital, Deli Express, Corporate Lodging, 70 West Marina, and Morehead Marine-Grady White Dealer. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morehead City invites you to enjoy windsurfing, skiing, surfing, swimming, fishing, dolphin watching, sun, fun, food and Crystal Coast hospitality. Don t forget, we are a pet friendly hotel with easy access to the outdoor areas without disturbing our non pet guests, but are limited to the number available. $25 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Holiday Inn Morehead City
Morehead City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing