We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro by the Sea

Bistro by the Sea
Ranked #14 of 121 Restaurants in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Water Views
NC
1 review
“Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Always great food. I have enjoyed the food here for years. I usually go with the tuna special. They use fresh local seafood so always order from daily specials.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LivinglargeNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    41
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
“The best food of any kind in North Carolina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I've been to this place many times after reading a review about it in US Airways in flight magazine. They really do have the best food I've tried anywhere in the state.

The Chablis dill sauce on seafood is absolutely fantastic. The desserts are hand made and aren't shipped in so that they taste like the freezer.

Get the which ever fresh catch is available on that day with the Chablis dill sauce, you won't be disappointed. Wow, fantastic food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Get the Hot Stone Beef Starter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Fresh filet slices that you cook on a hot stone at your table! It is awesome! Also the She Crab soup is the best around! Great food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBarr617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sorry I didn't try it sooner ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Have been driving by this place for more than five years; each year saying I would stop. But never did. The drive into town seems a bit off the beaten path from the beach, but it really isn't. So we finally went there this week, and it was amazing! We shared the crab and avocado appetizer and I was blown away! The presentation was amazing and the taste was sublime. Chunks of avocado and huge chunks of crab, in a light dressing, served with homemade bread toast points. Yum, yum, yum!!!! I will go back and have that for a linchpin entree. It was fabulous. I had the house special grouper and my husband ad the special red drum. They were different; but both were excellent. The crime brûlée was tasty as well. My only criticism - and it is a tiny one - the crime brûlée was served in a dish that was too tall and deep. Less custard and more brûlée would have appealed to me more. But it was still yummy. We will be back on our next visit to the Crystal Coast!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathykoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorite fine dining restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Back after two years out of the country, I'm still impressed. Libby still runs an efficient operation, Tim still works his magic in the kitchen and Buddy always makes you feel special at the table. My guests and I have always had memorable meals here from fresh seafood to beef dishes, all with tasty side dishes. Glad I'm back to enjoy each opportunity to dine here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrystalCoasBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro by the Sea also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bistro by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing