We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greasy Bar Food and Cheap Booze” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raps Grill and Bar - CLOSED

Raps Grill and Bar
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Greasy Bar Food and Cheap Booze”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

A poor imitation of TGIFs...and that's not gourmet. Might as hit a fast food joint. Drinks are the quality of a cheap college town bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    17
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is inviting, but this may have been the worst experience I've had in a restaurant in years. I came in later at night, around 10 PM, and sat at the bar because the restaurant was already closed. The bartender acted more annoyed that I was there then appreciative. All night, if I wanted something else, I had to flag her down. Possibly the worst bartender I've ever had to endure. Meanwhile, the owner and his cronies sat at the end of the bar yukking it up. For being in a tourist town, this place has no idea how to welcome strangers. Go somewhere else...this is a last resort, at best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pub grub...and good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

Went here for lunch and ordered soup, salad and an appetizer (crab dip). The food is typical pub food. It was alright, nothing to jump up and down for but it was good. Clam chowder on the bacon end of the spectrum; the cucumber wasabi dressing was fabulous (probably my favorite part of the meal). Good drink selection and service was good.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank liongrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Clam Strips in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is a great local spot. If you like clam strips they have the best I have had in Morehead, hand breaded and tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seamason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeland SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

My husband and I spent a week in Atantic Beach recently and friedns of ours used to live in the area. They recommended Raps. My husband had the rack of ribs. They did, just as the waitress informed us, fall off the bones. Very tasty. I had a fried seafood combo. The flounder was excellent but the shrimp were horrible. The cocktail sauce looked and tasted like salsa. Maybe because we have lived in coastal SC for 12 years, I expected the shrimp in NC to be as good, but they were not. The staff was very friendly and service from Sara was excellent. We would go back, but I would not order shrimp again

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raps Grill and Bar also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing