We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This motel was clean but that is about all I can say positive about it. The roooms were small, the lobby was small and the breakfast was almost to small to find. There was coffee, donuts and english muffins, period. There were two small tables with 2 seats each for eating breakfast so apparently they won't expecting you to linger long. The rooms were dark and old. The worst part though was we were on the first floor and every time the people above us walked we could hear it so it wasn't a restful night. For the price it was a big disappointment and if we hadn't had reservations ahead I would have kept going. And don't bother to reserve ahead because I was charged more than people walking in getting a room. So if you are looking for a comfortable nights rest this isn't the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jermoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

we stayed here based on reviews from the econo lodge site, the mattress was terrible, the breakfast was a laugh, dry donuts and english muffins..that was it. no jelly. no butter
the coffee in our room was this..there was an open package with only 1 bag of coffee, no creamer, sugar, stir sticks..The bath tub was dirty, big globs of hair...unfortanatly you only discover these things in the morning, when it too late to something about it.

Room Tip: don't choos a romm here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean-Deanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Clean updated room and a very reasonalbe price. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed here on business to the coast. The staff was courteous and efficient. Rooms were very clean and the shower was hot - almost too hot! Good quality towels, sheets and pillows and a decent HVAC unit. There was good soap available but bring your own shampoo. The continental breakfast consisted of pastries, english muffins, juice and coffee; I would have liked something with protein. Within its price range I would rate this a very good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were on our way to Hatteras Island for our usual fall fishing trip, but because Hwy 12 was closed, we had to take the long way (which meant 2 ferries, one of them 2 hours long). We decided to stay at Morehead City in order to catch the first ferry in the morning. I tried to book other hotels, but for some reason they were full. We found out why when we arrived - it was their annual Seafood Festival! I guess we were lucky to get ANY room at all, and for $48.

The hotel is a tiny bit rundown because it did sustain some hurricane damage, but the room was OK. It was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, and there was a microwave and small fridge. The bathroom needed an update, badly - especially the tub, as the finish was well worn, and I mean WELL WORN.

Now, about the front desk manager(s). Sometimes you read a review and you "wonder". There were two women and they couldn't have been nicer!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishinggoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed here on short notice, primarily due to fairly good overall reviews and a reasonable rate. Was told upon check in that there was no wi-fi unless we took a room near the office on the bottom floor. The wi-fi signal was marginal, but adequate. Our room was was relatively small, but furnisihed well. I thought it was odd that the bed covers were partially turned back as if someone was interrupted while preparing the room for occupancy. It was not as clean as it could have been. It had a peculiar mildew like odor, the carpets could have been much cleaner, and there was hair in the tub. The tv remote control did not work. Otherwise, at this point, I did not feel I had been ripped too harshly. After all, it was an inexpensive motel. However, the night was not over. My wife and I went to bed at 9pm after an exhausting day of travel. Shortly thereafter, the noise began. The walls were paper thin and someone several doors down outside could be heard speaking in a normal voice. What sounded like the local bowling league was in a room directly above us. The floor between us was paper thin. While I don't believe the occupants above intentionally made noise, I also don't believe they any effort to be quiet. After almost an hour of noise, I called the office and requested a room change. A very apologetic clerk agreed to move us to a room on the second floor. By 10:30pm we had repacked, dressed, moved, unpacked, and put on our nigiht clothes(for the second time). I was ready to sleep. At that point, I could hear someone's loud voice. I got up, dressed again, and walked outside to investigate. Around the corner from by room, at the top of the stairwell near the opposite side of the building, was a man seated against the wall. He was on the phone, apparently engaged in an argument with his girlfriend or wife, His deep voice boomed louder as the intensity of the argument escalated. By the time I returned to my room, the argument had worsened. A withering barrage of [---] flew at this point and could be clearly heard as they reverberated off the exterior passageway walls. I called the clerk, who was still very apologetic, and he promised to investigate. Shortly thereafter, the noise stopped. I could still hear people speaking in a normal tone in the room next door. I was beaten and tired. I slept fitfully through the night and woke up exhausted. Upon arriving home the next day, I was running a fever and spent the next few days nauseated with a stomach virus. Upon checking out at the front desk, I related some of the night's events to a desk clerk I had not met. He nonchalantly asked if I had reported the problem to the front desk, I told him I had and he was obviously not interested in learning more. No apology or sympathy, just a blank unconcerned stare. We departed to never return again...but not without penning this review for future travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theconehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I booked this location on a budget and stayed for two nights while on business. Actually, I was surprised that I experienced a very quiet stay. As expected, the other hotel guests were mostly construction workers and they tend to be loud. The good news is that the walls were not thin, the bed was comfortable enough, the towels were thicker than expected, the pillows were not sheet thin, my bare feet didn't feel icky when I walked on the carpet, and there was a small desk in my room. The bad news is.... don't expect shampoo, toothpaste, more than a doughnut for breakfast, or many of the comforts that you pay for at a higher price hotel.

I paid a budget price and received exactly that. Actually, under similar circumstances, I would stay again!

Room Tip: My ground floor rooms was easily accessible and I was able to park right in front of my door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sink-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
646 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#9 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
2.0 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Crystal Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Crystal Coast

Address: 3410 Bridges St, Morehead City, NC 28557-3220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range: £33 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Crystal Coast 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge Crystal Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast Hotel Morehead City
Econo Lodge Morehead City
Morehead City Econo Lodge
Econolodge Morehead City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing