We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing fancy but clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Morganton
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

On an overnight visit to Morganton to visit friends. While the room was bit tight and the queen size bed looked smaller than the queen size at home, the staff was friendly, the bed comfortable and the room was clean with working AC.

The usual free breakfast in the morning but in a very tight space. Luckily they had extra chairs and tables around the foyer on both the first and second floor.

I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCAOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
27
19
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Used this Sleep Inn on business after experiencing the super-slow internet connection at the Comfort Inn at the next exit off I-40. This is typical Sleep Inn. Nothing remarkable, but it's clean, quiet and not too worn out. You need ot use the fitness room at the Quality Inn next door, but that was not much of an inconvenience. The internet is fast enough to run Netflix, and that is my criterion for staying again. Wierd, eh? But that's one of the ways I rate hotels.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the back is real quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizz-Traveler987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

I made reservations in late May for a stay on June 8th. The reservation was for a NS King, Handicap, First floor. Upon arrival, the only king rooms were on the second floor with no elevator (I can't walk stairs). I furnished my confirmation and the attendants response was that it was made online and they didn't guarantee rooms for such. I accepted a queen room which was very inadequate. The room was cramped and some lights didn't work. The shower control was set on hottest setting and would not turn. Worst stay of my trip. Choice Hotels sided with the attendant. Never stay again with choice hotel chain.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BD6780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morganton hotels

Lebanon, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We got to the Sleep Inn in Morganton late and had to move on early the next morning. But the five and a half hours we got to rest was plenty because the bed and bed linens were fantastic. It was an amazingly comfortable room. The entire room was well maintained and offered all that we needed.

We all need a good night's sleep, and it is assured at this Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tango229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, NC
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you are looking for a hotel that is clean for under $70, this is the only place in the general Morganton area. I have been here a few times for work, and it is probably a bit below average for amenities, but it is clean, and that is why I still give it 3 stars.

The room was clean, and with one Queen bed, it was on the small side, but traveling alone it was fine. I will say the bed was not that comfortable, but I am traveling on a budget, and did not wish to spend more than $70 on a room for the night. Free HBO, and the channels were more extensive than some other hotels that I have stayed at.

I agree, that this THE ABSOLUTE WORST free breakfasts I have ever eaten. Quite frankly, the last time I was here, I only drank the OJ because I knew that everything else was either stale or had no taste what-so-ever (just because you can make your own waffles does NOT make the batter tasty). However, since I am saving about $20-$30 per night versus the only decent hotel in Morganton (which is the Hampton Inn), I would rather eat at a regular restaurant for breakfast anyway.

Room Tip: Very close to Grace Hospital and Broughton Hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolina621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The "non-smoking" room smelled like there had been a smoking marathon in there before I got there. There was no non smoking sign on the door, but the front desk said it was a non smoking. Their solution was to give me a bottle of spray disenfectant to spray on the drapes and bed covers. It helped, not much, but some. I had made 3 trips with stuff into the room and wasn't in the mood to change rooms, which they offered to do. Desk clerk was friendly when she wasn't talking on her cell phone...Breakfast room was a joke, looked like a refurbished closet, small tables were in the lobby area. Selection consisted of cold cereal and a waffle machine. Won't stay here again...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Spent three nights there Occtober 25-28. Lobby is seriously under renovation. Smell of smoke (not certain if that was the renovation totally or what) and fumes. Had to carry luggage upstairs via stairs as elevator was inoperable. Luckily the smells did not permeate the room. No breakfast because of the renovation. Had to walk nextdoor to the Quality Inn and was able to take advantage of their breakfast. Fitness room in the Sleep Inn was also unavailable. I walked nextdoor to use that of the Quality Inn, but I would not recommend it as the machines are old and the only door opens to the unlit outdoor pool area. The Sleep Inn room was clean enough, but the toilet runs a lot and made noise for much of the night. I did like that there was a walk in shower only; I don't need a bathtub. I disliked the pillows. The rooms do have thin walls, but there weren't many people on the second floor luckily making noise. The Sleep Inn staff was gracious upon check in and check out but otherwise you don't see them since the lobby was constantly under renovation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginga90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morganton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Morganton
Hampton Inn Morganton
#1 of 9 in Morganton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Morganton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Morganton
Quality Inn Morganton
#5 of 9 in Morganton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hickory
BEST WESTERN Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 4 in Lenoir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
19.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#6 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 2400A S Sterling St, Morganton, NC 28655-9467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Morganton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Morganton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Morganton
Morganton Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing