We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish it had been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Morganton
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Morganton
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wish it had been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

The woman who checked us in was very helpful. We checked in late 10:30 pm since we were not able to check in the the original hotel we had planned on staying at. She told us restaurants we could go to that would be open and even gave us some coupons. The room was hit and miss. The bed was very comfortable, however there were lots of cracks in the ceiling and the bathtub wouldn't hold water. I had to refill it four times during my 15 minute bath. I told the morning check in clerk and they really didn't seem to care or make a note of it while I was there. The breakfast was tiny with a poor selection.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    15
    22
    16
    17
See reviews for
36
12
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was put up here while here training for my new job, I ask to be moved the second week because as a woman I felt being there alone it was unsafe. There are alot of workers who do construction work who are having to stay here at this hotel. Lucky they are being placed on the outside back rooms away from other customers but they are three big double buildings and the swimming pool separates them all and they have cut aways on each end of the buildings. I was placed in the middle and felt unsafe when coming in and out of my room, I placed a table against the door since it looked unsafe. I would not be staying here ever again by myself. I will say the front desk help are wonderful and the food for breakfast is good too. I can say the pool is a 8ft one and is nice and warm. But as my room went, I saw a bug crawling on the bathroom floor and did have something biting me one night I stayed in my p.j.'s. It was not updated, the fridge was nice and microwave and iron and ironing board was nice with the coffee maker. But they need to update their beds and carpets. I hope it was helpful to you. For the money stay somewhere cleaner.

Room Tip: Staying by yourself ladies try to pick a room near the desk area or in the middle on the top, safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAKEATRIPONTHEWILDSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Morganton hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

not hard to find,people were very nice here. motel is older and does show wear,but is clean. breakfast is the same as any other motel. there is a couple of good places to eat dinner. a steakhouse across the street, difficult to get into with the construction going on. my favorate is the mexican resturant a couple doors down from motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc_roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Don't judge a book by its cover! I was traveling to this place for a business purpose...I made the booking based on several positive reviews online (even though the photo showed what appeared to be a circa 1991 decidedly unglamorous stucco motel).

It was actually one of the nicer of these types of places off the interstate. Very clean room, pleasant decor. Nicely scented toiletries, plenty of frsh towels. Nothing luxurious, but was clean. Exterior was freshly painted, large planters flowers in the very adequately maintained pool area and patio. Breakfast was hot and early, I was there at 6:15. Staff very friendly. Excellent experience at the pool: it was 7 am, the water was warm and deliciously inviting. I had a quick 20 minute swim and it made the rest of my day go beautifully! Quick checkout. Turns out pool was actually unheated so who knows why it was such a lovely warm temperature. Anyway, if you have to be in this area, this is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick one that is facing the courtyard if you like the pool. Otherwise, pick one that faces away. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

WE stopped here because we were too tired to continue our drive home. This hotel was NASTY!! Luckily we had a blanket in the car because I made my family lay on the blanket instead of the sheets. The comforter was GROSS! The room smelled old smoke. The ceiling in the bathroom was falling. I can't speak on the grounds because my husband checked us in so I didn't go any further than the room (which was literally 100ft from the car) because I was so disgusted. If you have a choice, please don't stay here..... Had it not been 2am, we would have left! It looks like a truck drivers stop or a place drug addicts hang out.

Room Tip: avoid this place at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladykb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

A check in, we were matter-of-factly told by the rude front desk worker that our rate had been increased over what our reservation rate was. She told us that the decision had been made by the owner, "Mr. Patel" to jack up the rate and there was nothing that could be done because he was the owner. We asked to speak to him. She refused to call saying "I can't call him-Mr. Patel said not to call him about this". We asked to speak to the manager. She refused. We were in town as part of a larger group and had reserved a block of rooms for a baseball tournament for our kids. They increased the rate on all of our rooms after we had arrived from 2 1/2 hours away. It did not matter that we had a reservation, or that we had a confirmation number with our quoted rate. She basically told us that we could pay the increased rate or leave. After 10 minutes of arguing about whether or not she would get the owner or a manager on the phone, other families arrived and became involved and were also upset. With 10 people in the lobby upset at the rate increase and the reservations not being honored, the very rude employee had no choice but to call "Mr. Patel". He allowed her to honor the reservation rate-how generous. They still were able to cheat half of our group out of additional money over and above the agreed upon reservation rates because they had no other choice being hours away from home and exhausted. These people are shameless, greedy and rude. If you are not looking for a hassle, I would steer clear of this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I had the pleasure of staying a the Quality Inn in Morganton this week. I had stayed at the Comfort Inn as well as the Sleep Inn in Morganton many times before but this was my first stay here in the Quality Inn. The staff was excellant both at the front desk and the housekeeping. I stay at alot of Choice Hotels during the year but seldom do I find the housekeepers to be so effecient as these were. I returned early to the room once and everything was done. So many times they fail to replace all the bath linens that I used the day before. Since I travel alone and only use one of the two sets that is usually stocked in the room. I find that many times they do not restock the used set once or twice during my stay. Couldn't say that here. Every day both sets were there waiting for me when I got in from work. I must say I highly recomend this property. The rooms were clean, spacious and in good repair.

Room Tip: I stayed on the side next to the Sleep Inn and found it to me realitively Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morganton
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 9 in Morganton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Morganton
Hampton Inn Morganton
#1 of 9 in Morganton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Morganton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#6 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
21.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
19.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hickory I-40
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Morganton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Morganton

Property: Quality Inn Morganton
Address: 2400 S Sterling St, Morganton, NC 28655-9467
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Morganton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Morganton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Morganton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This pet-friendly hotel in Morganton gives you easy access to other local sites, activities and attractions like: Lake James Linville Caverns Hickory Regional Airport Blue Ridge Mountains Comma City Auditorium Our Value Qs deliver professional, responsive and friendly service, as well as amenities that give you more for your hard-earned money. Business guests will appreciate our meeting space and business center—complete with easy access to copy, print and fax services. Additional amenities include: Free hot, fresh and healthy breakfast Free WiFi Seasonal outdoor pool Meeting space Popcorn maker Each guest room offers a refreshing shower, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer and desk, along with an iron and ironing board. Your Q Bed features a comfortable, premium mattress and linens, a generous supply of fluffy pillows and a soft, plush blanket—because we know how much you value a good night’s sleep. Select rooms come sofa sleepers. This Morganton hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Get your money’s worth at the Quality Inn. Morganton hotels like ours offer the best hotel rates and the best amenities, so you can focus on the people and travel memories that really matter. Book today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Morganton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Morganton
Morganton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing