We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Chinese food in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taipei Cafe

Taipei Cafe
Ranked #76 of 149 Restaurants in Morrisville
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Chef Pao is from Taiwan and really knows how to cook all sorts of wonderful Chinese dishes. This is real, traditional Chinese cooking, not the Americanized versions that so many others have. See for yourself, it is usually full of local Chinese customers. It is a small hole-in-the wall place, but they have great service and reasonable prices for both dine-in and carry-out. We love to go to the Taipei Cafe, and we are lucky to have them close by in Morrisville.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“GREAT Peking Duck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

I was looking for a restaurant near me in Cary that had great Peking Duck. I saw a review on Yelp that was good, so I gave this place a try. I have had Peking Duck at restaurants around the world including Tokyo, New York City's Chinatown, and Ghana (funny, I have never been to China). This little cafe has Peking Duck that is as good as it gets! I ordered Peking Duck, house fried rice, and vegetable delight and every dish was AMAZING!!! Peking Duck is my favorite dish and I normally only have it about every six months, because it is difficult to find. I have mixed emotions now I know that there is a restaurant literally around the corner that has my favorite dish, because I WILL BE THERE OFTEN!!! Oh well, I will just have to go running more to balance eating this OUTSTANDING food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deltasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Everything tasted like old oil”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My wife and I are new to the area and were looking for good take-out. After reading the reviews we decided on the Taipei Cafe. We were both very disappointed in our meals. From the spring rolls to the general Tso's chicken, all we could taste was the oil it was cooked in. It tasted old and completely overpowered the flavor of the food. We will definitely not be returning.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank sousoucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Cure for home sick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

This rating is for true Chinese food lover. Some of you may not know there are many different styles of Chinese food. Taipei café has the authentic Taiwan style cooking. They can also cook many different other style, even on demand. However, it is difficult for me to rate since that I order much less of them.

I have seen many American friends visiting them as well; so I have to assume they are good for American’s taste too. For us, even we did browse menu from occasionally, we usually ask the owner what’s good today. She will make recommendation about what is fresh and what is popular in those days. That typically become what we eat. It is not a big restaurant but it is clean and bright. We visit there often enough and joke about that is our kitchen.

You will enjoy the relax feeling and home cooking especially if you are from Chinese community or a true Chinese-Chinese food lover (vs. the American-Chinese food like Panda Express. Panda Express is not bad but it is different and hard to say it is authentic). Of course, it is very easy for carry out if you live near by.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Taiwenese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taipei Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Taipei Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing