We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely disappointed”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Maiden, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“extremely disappointed”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Booked this hotel for my kids volleyball tournament in Pilot Mountain on Jan.25th. When we booked the hotel, we were only going to stay Friday night. When we went to book the room on line, we saw they had an indoor heated pool advertised, so we decided to book Saturday night as well and make a mini vacation out of it. After our 1 1/2 hr. drive Friday night, we arrived at the hotel and the kids ran to the pool only to see it was out of order. I had immediately advised the clerk that we would be interested in checking out Saturday due to the pool being out of order. The clerk advised us that we would need to talk to the manager who would not be on premise until Saturday morning. 6:30 Saturday morning, I went downstairs to talk to the manager and tell him that we only booked Saturday because of the pool and since it was out of order there was no need to stay. We were interested in cancelling our Saturday night stay and receive a refund for Saturday night. The manager advised me that since we booked our reservations on line he could not refund us and if we booked directly with the hotel they maybe could of helped. I again said with the pool being broken, there was no need to stay and he said the best he could do was refund us $10.00 per night. We decided to check out that Saturday morning. I waited several days to write my review to see what my credit card was being charged and they had only taken off $20.00. So this scam artist hotel charge me $59.00 for a night I didn't even stay there. I do understand that things will break down but I felt they could of been a little more understanding. I guess they needed my $59.00 to fix their pool. The overall hotel was clean and staff very nice but unfortunately I will not stay at a choice hotel again it is unfortunate for them because we stay in their hotel chains quit frequently and will look at other hotel brands. And by the way if you do have a complaint and get choice hotels email and phone number they will not help in any way.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trvlonbiz123, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks for your time to write review. It is possible that you made reservations through some third party website. We highly recommend to make reservation on our website so that you can get accurate information. Looks for Quality Inn logo when you make reservation. We have nice outdoor pool which is only open during summer. Even by looking at picture on our website you can see that we have outdoor pool and which is closed for winter month. It is very well possible that you might have posted this review at wrong hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    72
    41
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
77
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful in placing us in an accessible room that would also allow our dog. Room 130 had the most comfortable mattress on the king bed that I have ever found in a hotel. The room was very clean, the hotel easily accessed from the interstate, and was also close to several restaurants.

Room Tip: Be sure to let them know you are traveling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRPATTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stay here every time we visit Mt Airy and as always it was nice and clean. The hotel is close to everything, has a free continental breakfast which was good and staff was very pleasant. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Mt Airy!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsburg, IN
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Needed a nice place to stay after a long drive through the Carolina's. Mount Airy AKA Mayberry.
We found out this was Mayberry, RFD, quite by accident. Quality Inn was nice, breakfast left a little to be desired. donuts were stale, and no meat, bacon or ham, for the breakfast. Only sausage gravy. Oh well. Was a good night to sleep. Beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Visited during Autumn Leaves Festival. Stayed two nights and while the room was clean and quiet, the bedding leaves a lot to be desired.Pillows small and uncomfortable, bathroom tiny and the wall plug near the bed had a socket that did not work. Based on price I would have a hard time choosing this over the Hampton Inn across the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountainlover1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here after 6 hours of driving to Myrtle Beach.
We have found a new place to stop from now on.
Excellent service@ the desk.
Nice clean rooms.
Really good breakfast. More than we expected. They had alot of items hot& cold. We could make your own belgium waffles. Had yogurt. Fruit. Cold cereal. Toast, biscuits& gravy& muffins & more juice, coffee& more.
Good value for the room.
You can walk to fast food places. Cetrally located to alot of places, but not too far off the expressway.
We will return.
Keep up the good job.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieTig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stopped here to spend the night on my way back from the beach, and I was not disappointed. This is as well-kept and up-to-date for an exterior motel-type property as you'll find. My room was on the ground floor with a King bed, and was modern and spacious. The lobby and breakfast area were equally up to par. I couldn't imagine you could do much better in Mt. Airy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
181 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
10.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
44 reviews
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 2136 Rockford St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-5206 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn, a Mount Airy hotel near the North Carolina Granite Quarry. The Quality Inn hotel is conveniently located just three miles from the North Carolina Granite Quarry. This Mount Airy Hotel is close to many Yadkin Valley vineyards, including Black Wolf Vineyards, Shelton Vineyards, Elk Run Vineyards and Old North State Winery. The Blue Ridge Parkway is just 14 miles away. Mount Airy is the birthplace of Andy Griffith. Visitors are invited to step back to a simpler time. A stroll down Main Street in the Friendly City will remind people of the town of Mayberry. Fans of The Andy Griffith Show can visit Floyd’s City Barber Shop, Old Mayberry Jail, Snappy Lunch and Andy’s childhood home. At nearby Hanging Rock State Park, visitors will find boating, fishing, swimming, hiking, rock climbing and picnic areas. Golf courses and tennis courts are also close by. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops are located in the surrounding area. This Mount Airy hotel offers full-service amenities and features, including a free continental breakfast and free coffee and cappuccino. Guests will enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn, Mount Airy, Nc Hotel Mount Airy
Mount Airy Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing