We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor internet”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel was nice. That being said, I travel alot and need hotel internet to be productive. This hotels internet ws s poor. The shower, yes a shower not a tub (should be a plus) nope mold in the seams at the base. Staff was overly accomodating upon arrival and a nice complimentary cold beverage is always a nice way to end a long day. Small fixes will get this hotel a higher review.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. We were really disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the internet service and the condition of the shower area of your bathroom, and would like to apologize. Rest assured that your comments will be discussed and will look into the tub drain issue.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    86
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
118
123
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for one night after visiting all that Mount Airy has to offer. Hotel is located in a good part of town, and is surrounded by many restaurants and local shopping. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was the typical Holiday Inn Express fare. No real positives or negatives about this place, but definitely one to check out in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. Our staff at Mount Airy is one of the friendliest you will find.

We feel a hot breakfast is a good way to start the day and I am glad you noticed our new additional food options that are being installed in all Holiday Inn Express Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My company normally makes reservations for us at Comfort Inn. So I was a little worried about staying at the HI, but was blown away with the friendliness, cleanliness,other amenities. I have told my company in the future please book me at a Holiday Inn Express. The staff was so incredibly friendly and accommodating. It felt like being at home. Super clean too. We had an accident with the baby and our bed sheets late at night and within just a short time the front desk lady walked clean sheets to our room and asked if she could put them on for us. I really could not get over how nice everyone was. I was there for business but brought my husband and little girl with me and we can't stop raving about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for wonderful comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. Our staff at Mount Airy is one of the friendliest you will find. I can see that we achieve our goals.

I am glad you decided to stay with us on this visit over our competitor and I hope your company decided to continue to staying with us while in Mount Airy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The hotel itself was immaculate and the rooms quite large and well-appointed. A manager's reception is offered Monday through Thursday and features wine, beer, and small snacks for your enjoyment. The hostess on duty greeted each table and was quite helpful for those needing suggestions for their visit of Mount Airy. The complimentary breakfast was above what I've ever seen. They offered eggs, ham, fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cereals, oatmeal, pancakes, sweet rolls, several juices, coffee, milk, and tea. We did not use the pool or hot tub, but both looked quite nice. The hotel is located less than a mile from downtown Mount Airy, so it is convenient for those wishing to revisit Mayberry. Just can't say enough about this hotel.

Room Tip: There is really not a good view from any side of the hotel. The front sits back from a main highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy15066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for wonderful comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. I will pass on your comments to hour Manager’s reception hostess. I am glad she was able to help you with suggestions while staying in Mount Airy.

I am so happy you enjoyed the breakfast. We feel a hot breakfast is a good way to start the day and I am glad you noticed our new additional food options that are being installed in all Holiday Inn Express Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is very clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a good size with excellent facilities. They have gluten free options at breakfast, fantastic! The non-gluten free breakfast options were also very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for wonderful comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina.

I am so happy you enjoyed the breakfast. We feel a hot breakfast is a good way to start the day and I am glad you noticed our new additional food options that are being installed in all Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

Hope to see you again if you are traveling through the Mount Airy area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

No notice, one night stay. Received friendly greeting at check-in. Shortly after settling into the room we received a call from the front desk asking if the room was satisfactory. Rooms were clean and spacious. Beds were very comfortable. Obviously, pet friendly being we heard a dog bark in the room next to us. Free wine, beer and soda in reception room all served by a most fascinating hostess (Grandma Shirley). At check-out we were greeted and given information about the local area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghost0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mt. Airy, NC. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. Our staff at Mount Airy is one of the friendliest you will find. I will pass on your comments to “Grandma Shirley” for you.

Thanks for the recommendations for future reviewers that may be looking for lodging in the Mount Airy, North Carolina area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Attentive front desk personnel, offered bonus points or water and munchies. Elevator and buggies so top floor accessible to everyone. Room enough to sleep four had only two chairs, one of them for a desk and both of them with plastic seats. Sink inside bathroom, inconvenient when preparing food. Grab bar on bath beside tap, could be dangerous in event of fall or slip right onto taps. Location off hwy but convenient to stores and interesting downtown. Nice setting with lots of parking.

Room Tip: Request top floor at booking for quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WANGELA-21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for the comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. Also thank you for being a loyal IHG Reward member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
597 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
10.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Address: 1320 Ems Dr, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mount Airy South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing