We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Shirley was great during happy hour. Very friendly. Front desk staff also eagerly ready to help. Will stay here again for sure. Business or pleasure, this would be a great place to stay. Clean rooms, sheets, bathrooms, and great breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful words about our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and staff and are strive to make everyone’s stay a pleasant one and I can see we met all those goals with you. I will pass on your comments to Shirley.

I am so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the local wine selection we use during our Manager’s Reception Monday thru Thursday.
.
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Well maintained property..VERY HELPFUL, FRIENDLY STAFF...Jennifer was very helpful in resolving an issue with our room....she always greeted us warmly & was anxious to assist in making sure our stay was good.good location for mt.Airy & Pilot Mount... Only issue was the internet.... Slow & disconnected frequently... Clean..comfortably ... Would def stay there again,..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rfhtrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. We were really disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the internet service. Our internet system does reset itself and require you to put the password in, every twelve hours or so. My guess is your computer was not picking up a strong signal from one of our nine towers we have throughout the hotel. I am not sure if you tried calling our tech support for help?

I am glad to see that Jennifer was able to help with your guest room requests.

Hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very clean and nice. Beautiful rooms beds slept great! Staff was the best! Janice on night desk was the most friendly helpful person I have ever encountered at a hotel! All staff was super! Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillieCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations.

I will pass on your comments to Janice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I recently spent 2 nights in this hotel. The hotel staff, cleanliness, value, and property maintenance were excellent. The breakfast was much better than the usual coffee and stale muffin I am used to in a lot of hotels. When I return to Mt. Airy, I will definitely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roydlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations.

We feel a hot breakfast is a good way to start the day and you will find that our breakfast is consistent with all other Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

See you the next time you are in Mount Airy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

First of all the "suites" were not really suites, but simply slightly larger rooms than usual. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very basic (cereal, coffee, pastries) so if you just wanted something on the run you were good to go. We had lots of problems with the internet, and talking to other guests we found out we weren't alone. The internet connection would terminate for no reason and then you could spend another half hour trying to log back in again - we happened to have multiple devices (laptop, kindle and ipad) with us and all had the same problem, the connection problem was no different whether we were in the room or in the lobby. Mt Airy is a small town, so the hotel location was good. We really enjoyed our trip to Mt Airy, however we probably wouldn't stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trravelling_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. We were really disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the internet service. Our internet system does reset itself and require you to put the password in, every twelve hours or so. My guess is your computer was not picking up a strong signal from one of our nine towers we have throughout the hotel. I am not sure if you tried calling our tech support for help?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Regrettably, I was only able to stay in Mount Airy for one night. The staff at this HIE was exceptionally nice. Our room was large, clean, and well appointed. The city commissioner hosted the evening meet and greet and provided great suggestions for dining and sightseeing. I'll definitely stay here when I return to Mount Airy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WSW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations. Our staff at Mount Airy is one of the friendliest you will find. I am glad you liked Shirley’s suggestions on dining and sightseeing while in Mount Airy.

See you the next time you are traveling to Mount Airy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel was nice. That being said, I travel alot and need hotel internet to be productive. This hotels internet ws s poor. The shower, yes a shower not a tub (should be a plus) nope mold in the seams at the base. Staff was overly accomodating upon arrival and a nice complimentary cold beverage is always a nice way to end a long day. Small fixes will get this hotel a higher review.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Your opinion is very important to us, as it helps us identify areas in need of improvement. We were really disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the internet service and the condition of the shower area of your bathroom, and would like to apologize. Rest assured that your comments will be discussed and will look into the tub drain issue.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
609 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
20.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 8 in Hillsville
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Address: 1320 Ems Dr, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range: £85 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mount Airy South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing