We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but needs some basic improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but needs some basic improvement”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was in Mount Airy for a week on business and I was part of a field team that was staying at the hotel for the week. It's a very nice hotel, typically what you would expect for the Holiday Inn Express brand. Being there for a week, I see things that you may miss during a one-night visit. I arrived around 4 pm, unfortunately at the same time as other members of my group. Since there was only one staff member at the front desk, the line to check in was 12 deep at one point. In some cases, rooms weren't ready. It was nice to have the nightly managers reception, but it didn't happen on time that Monday because the staff member that worked the reception wasn't on time. That happens, and it's OK. However, the same thing happened a few days later in that the staff that handles breakfast didn't show up on time and breakfast was delayed by an hour.

The theme is that the hotel is staffed so thin that if an employee can't be there, housekeeping is done later, an amenity is delayed or doesn't happen, check in takes a long time, etc.

The internet service was poor, but I think that's a function of how the network is set up. There are many routers on their network and it wasn't unusual for one router to drop you and then you have to log into another. That's not good when you are hosting a business group in your meeting room and everyone is dependent on the wifi service. The hotel may want to rethink how they distribute their wifi service. I've had a similar problem at other IHG brand hotels, so it could be out of management's control.

The staff is very friendly and welcoming and do their best. I had an enjoyable stay. Management just needs to pay attention to how the low staffing affects the quality of the stay.

Would I go back? Sure. It's a nice hotel and has a good meeting facility and the coffee is always hot and fresh. That's the endorsement, Some adjustments need to be made for timely service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacket88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We regret any inconvenience experienced due to the internet services issues that you had in our meeting room. For everyone reading this review. We do offer both wired and wireless in our meeting room.

You are correct when you have an extended stay like yours you tend to pick up items more often. I want to thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. I will address each of these issues with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    86
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
118
123
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sandy Hook, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here multiple time for business and family travel. Always super nice staff, clean rooms, and great breakfast. Staff is super helpful and courteous. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others, it is definitely family friendly. Two thumbs up !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BR549KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
First of all thank your past visits to our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mt. Airy, NC. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met most of your expectations.

Thanks for the wonderful recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Super clean quiet room. Satisfying hot breakfast. Hard working staff. Only negative was room was not ready at 3 pm check in time due to seasonal heavy booking. This kept rating from being 'Excellent'. Sorry Holiday Inn. When you promise a 3 pm check in and don't meet that after I've driven for 6 hours you lose points.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations.
We feel a hot breakfast is a good way to start the day and you will find that our breakfast is consistent with all other Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

Sorry that we did not have your room ready by 3:00pm check-in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arab
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

While visiting Mt. Airy, we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Mount Airy and was very well pleased. Hotel was very clean and had an excellent breakfast bar. Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again if we come back this way!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcarey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations.

We feel a hot breakfast is a good way to start the day and you will find that our breakfast is consistent with all other Holiday Inn Express Hotels.

See you the next time you are in Mount Airy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, GA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel was great for one night in Mt. Airy as we started our trip back home from WV and VA. Very convenient. I try and stay at Holiday Inn Expresses when I am in smaller towns since I travel a lot for work and feel very safe at the hotels and they have the same expectation of cleanliness that I have. Only downside was we were in room 200 and the wifi signal kept going in and out. If I was on a business trip, it would have been a bigger issue, but last day of vacation so it was fine. We mostly stay out of the room and visited several local vineyards (Stoney Knoll is our favorite) and downtown Mt. Airy.

Room Tip: Room 200 is at the end of the hallway and very private. However wifi signal is weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met most of your expectations.

We were really disappointed to learn that you were unsatisfied with the internet service. My guess is your computer was not picking up a strong signal from one of our nine towers we have throughout the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We recently stayed three nights here. We have stayed in hotels all over the US and abroad, of all star levels, and for a basic "express" hotel, this was about the cleanest and well-maintained we have ever seen. You can tell the staff here takes pride in their work. We thought the hotel was new, but in fact, it is four years old. Staff was friendly and helpful, the pool was nice, and again, we were so impressed with the cleanliness. Just a pleasant, clean hotel! We stayed in a suite, so had a little more room with a refrigerator/microwave....nice.

Room Tip: Suites were nice and had refrigerator and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeybee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations and all our guest rooms have refrigerators and microwaves.

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vidalia, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wonderful stay for one night. The hotel was convenient to town and restaurants. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was a wonderful treat. We didn't use pool. Room has small refrigerator and microwave. Would definitely stay here again. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-Ma30474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudy W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for comments you posted regarding our Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We take pride in our hotel and staff, and I am glad we met your expectations and all our guest rooms have refrigerators and microwaves.

Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
595 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
10.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Address: 1320 Ems Dr, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mount Airy South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing