We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good burger”

Leon's Burger Express
Ranked #13 of 101 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Cuisines: American
Description: "Excellent burgers. Also serve breakfast. Great variety on menu".
Restaurant details
Description: "Excellent burgers. Also serve breakfast. Great variety on menu".
Maine
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good burger”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our waitress was great and so was the food! They don't take credit cards so make sure you have cash.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank harvickfan-29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotdog”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I stopped in while shopping downtown Mount Airy for the day and had a delicious hot dog! Our waitress was so friendly and the service was great! We were very pleased with our experience here and would recommend everyone stop in and try them!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Andy's hotdogs and soda pop stop!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Who doesn't think of the hotdog when talking about Andy Griffith? You can get it here along with a soda pop--to go or have it here. The prices are well below the normal..how he does it--?--but it's a must see and have-a-hotdog restaurant. Makes you feel like you are truly in Mayberry RFD !!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wolf19752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stopped in Mt. Airy on the way back home from Georgia specifically to eat at Leon's. The restaurant is a great small diner with good food and reasonable prices. Not fast food but good home cooked burgers.

Before you just stop in check their hours, I believe that they tend to close around 3 PM.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Total Diner Experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We ate here for lunch on Friday of Memorial Day weekend. We loved the diner look and feel! We started at the counter but a booth opened up so the waitress offered us that option, which we accepted. We both had bacon cheeseburgers. They were greasy, juicy and wonderful -- made from scratch, not frozen meat patties. I had mac-n-cheese and my husband had french fries, both were very tasty. The waitresses treated us like old friends (even though it was obvious we weren't locals) and kept our glasses filled. The portion sizes were excellent and prices were great. Eating there brought back memories of a simpler time when people visited with each other over lunch (rather than being glued to their electronic devices and ignoring their dining companions). It was our favorite meal in Mt. Airy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TEFox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leon's Burger Express also viewed

 

Been to Leon's Burger Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing