We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayberry Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great park”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We found this to be a great park. Very good management. When we phoned to make a reservation the recorded message told us to go ahead and pick whatever site we would like that was not taken and come to the office in the morning and settle up. The same message also gave us the correct address to punch into our GPS and the password for the wi-fi. that was a first. Usually if you check in late you don't get the use of wi-fi if it is security enabled till you pay. Mostly you don't even get it unless you ask while paying. The park was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 101Holidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    30
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have stayed at Mayberry campground several times of the last several years. It is a clean , well run facility geared to full hookups although there is a small tent area. There is a laundry building and several shelters throughout the sites so groups can picnic and sit around the fire pits. Only one bath facility behind the office. The campground is just off I-74 so there is road noise on the sites close to the highway, barely any in the other sites. We usually have the heat or fans going so we don't really hear the road.
They are working on the Internet which is good near the office but very spotty farther away. The owners are very willing to help in anyway to make your stay comfortable. i
It is a very good value for the money. The area has many festivals and lots of things to do.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank turf1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was the second time we stayed at this campground.
Both times, we were very satisfied.
There aren't amenities like some campgrounds - no pool, no activites (that we were aware of).
However, it was very clean, very quiet and very close to Mt. Airy.
Easy to park camper, spacious.
I would definitely recommend this campground!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Joseph, MI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very small quaint but nothing to do at this campground. Is a perfect stop over to visit Mt. airy and all the town has to offer. Great mountain views and friendly campers. We stayed in a 35 foot motor home in a pull thru site. You get to pick your own site and if you pick a site close to the office you will get wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The Mayberry Campground in Mt. Airy has no pool but does have rock-solid electrical service, good water pressure and excellent cable TV. The sites fit big rigs with some pull thru's. During North Carolina's sometimes severe mountain weather about two-thirds of the park is closed off. Water is maintained in the part that is open thru freeze-proof connections.However, your hose, lying on the ground IS likely to freeze, so disconnect your hoses at night.
Otherwise, during the summer season Mayberry is spacious
Mayberry is casually run and very friendly. Just like the TV show it's named for.
Roads are wide and have a crushed granite surface.
The location a few miles from I-77 via I-74 is easy to reach and is a good stopover for those coming down I-81 to I-77 on the way to Florida. It's also close to the beautiful Blue Ridge Parkway.

Room Tip: Although Mayberry is big-rig friendly, make sure they know the size of your coach as not all sites a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank tomgauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
737 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
16.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayberry Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayberry Campground

Property: Mayberry Campground
Address: 114 Bunker Rd, Mount Airy, NC 27030-7691
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mount Airy
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayberry Campground is located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We currently have 106 sites that are all full-hook up with cable tv and wifi internet service. Amenities include 5 picnic shelters with fire rings and grills. The largest shelter also has a full kitchen. We also have two ponds that are catch and release as well as two playgrounds. We are conveniently located just over 1 mile from Walmart and various restaurants, 4 miles from downtown where all of the Mayberry attractions can be found, and a short 15 minute drive to Pilot Mountain. We are also surrounded by many wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing