We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful campground!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayberry Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Sudlersville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful campground!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The campground is beautiful with nice large pull thru sites. The campground is relatively new and they are still expanding. Two large ponds for fishing. It is family run and they are extremely nice. The only improvement needed is to the bath house but otherwise a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrtspeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed a week here in our 40' Class A during Mayberry Days held at Mt. Airy. The setting for this park is awesome. Great views of the Blue Ridge. Close to Mt. Airy. Has all the amenities you need to be very comfortable. We have already booked our spot for next year. Can't wait to get back to good ol' Mayberry!!

Room Tip: If you call early, request spot 2, 3, 4, or 5 on Andy Griffith St..you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfnut49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We travel full time in our motorhome and experience many campgrounds along the 12,000-15,000 miles we traverse every year. So far, Mayberry Campground is the best that we have encountered out of all that we have visited. I cannot say enough about this campground but a few of the highlights are the super friendly staff, terrific view from the campground, extremely nice landscaping, easy access to fine restaurants, great (fast) wifi at our site, and cable TV for evening entertainment.

I realize that my evaluation reads like it was written by the campground management but I am just a retired military guy that appreciates quality, especially at a Passport America price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moorejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advance
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The other reviews are quite correct-open, clean, friendly, easy to pull in, convenient location. We have been there 2 or 3 times. However, the flies are simply awful. Maybe not a problem for big rig owners who can comfortably eat indoors, but we have a 21 foot travel trailer, so we tried to eat outdoors, We had no picnic table at our site, so we bought a folding table at Walmart. But when we sat down to eat, a hoard of flies descended on us, on our food and in our faces. It was horrible. I'd rather stay home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Large open park with lots of nice grass, gravel roads/sites. Sites a bit close together, but good long pull-throughs. Good access to Mt. Airy, (which was disappointing,) and a perfect spot for short tomorrow-trip to Charleston, WV.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsonk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digby, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our way to Florida. The park is open(no trees), so it is easy to get in and out with a big rig. Had some problems with the internet, but it was repaired. Used the shower facilities, lots of hot water. They weren't very busy, so we could let the dogs out for a good run around. Close to Mt. Airy and shopping. Right off I74, makes it convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maggiemaedigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We found this to be a great park. Very good management. When we phoned to make a reservation the recorded message told us to go ahead and pick whatever site we would like that was not taken and come to the office in the morning and settle up. The same message also gave us the correct address to punch into our GPS and the password for the wi-fi. that was a first. Usually if you check in late you don't get the use of wi-fi if it is security enabled till you pay. Mostly you don't even get it unless you ask while paying. The park was very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 101Holidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
737 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
16.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayberry Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayberry Campground

Property: Mayberry Campground
Address: 114 Bunker Rd, Mount Airy, NC 27030-7691
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mount Airy
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayberry Campground is located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We currently have 106 sites that are all full-hook up with cable tv and wifi internet service. Amenities include 5 picnic shelters with fire rings and grills. The largest shelter also has a full kitchen. We also have two ponds that are catch and release as well as two playgrounds. We are conveniently located just over 1 mile from Walmart and various restaurants, 4 miles from downtown where all of the Mayberry attractions can be found, and a short 15 minute drive to Pilot Mountain. We are also surrounded by many wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing