We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this area/RV park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayberry Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We love this area/RV park”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We try to make this a stop each time we travel from Michigan to North Carolina and places further South. The park is close to "historic" Mayberry, is located on the property of the first recorded conjoined Siamese twins and is very well kept. With Passport America membership it is especially reasonable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rtaylor537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    24
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were headed home from Myrtle Beach excited to attend the Autumn Harvest Festival and finally stay at the Mayberry Campground. We had passed this several times traveling to MB from Ohio and this time the stop would work. As we were on the road realized I had not made a reservation. So called and told Kaylee we would take anything as our Motorhome is self-contained. Well they said come on in and they would work something out. Now that is NC hospitality... We ended up with the most beautiful view from what we consider the prime campsite at the campground as Ben parked us next to the Grandparent Bunker's home. They ran water and electric and our two day stay was peaceful and felt right at home. This is a new park and very well organized and RV friendly. Hope to stay here again in the spring on our return to our other favorite campground, Ocean Lakes in Myrtle Beach.... Thank you Ben and Mayberry Staff for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donnajerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudlersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The campground is beautiful with nice large pull thru sites. The campground is relatively new and they are still expanding. Two large ponds for fishing. It is family run and they are extremely nice. The only improvement needed is to the bath house but otherwise a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrtspeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed a week here in our 40' Class A during Mayberry Days held at Mt. Airy. The setting for this park is awesome. Great views of the Blue Ridge. Close to Mt. Airy. Has all the amenities you need to be very comfortable. We have already booked our spot for next year. Can't wait to get back to good ol' Mayberry!!

Room Tip: If you call early, request spot 2, 3, 4, or 5 on Andy Griffith St..you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfnut49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We travel full time in our motorhome and experience many campgrounds along the 12,000-15,000 miles we traverse every year. So far, Mayberry Campground is the best that we have encountered out of all that we have visited. I cannot say enough about this campground but a few of the highlights are the super friendly staff, terrific view from the campground, extremely nice landscaping, easy access to fine restaurants, great (fast) wifi at our site, and cable TV for evening entertainment.

I realize that my evaluation reads like it was written by the campground management but I am just a retired military guy that appreciates quality, especially at a Passport America price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moorejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advance
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The other reviews are quite correct-open, clean, friendly, easy to pull in, convenient location. We have been there 2 or 3 times. However, the flies are simply awful. Maybe not a problem for big rig owners who can comfortably eat indoors, but we have a 21 foot travel trailer, so we tried to eat outdoors, We had no picnic table at our site, so we bought a folding table at Walmart. But when we sat down to eat, a hoard of flies descended on us, on our food and in our faces. It was horrible. I'd rather stay home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Large open park with lots of nice grass, gravel roads/sites. Sites a bit close together, but good long pull-throughs. Good access to Mt. Airy, (which was disappointing,) and a perfect spot for short tomorrow-trip to Charleston, WV.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsonk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
167 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
521 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
166 reviews
9.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayberry Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayberry Campground

Property: Mayberry Campground
Address: 114 Bunker Rd, Mount Airy, NC 27030-7691
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Mount Airy
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayberry Campground is located in Mount Airy, North Carolina. We currently have 106 sites that are all full-hook up with cable tv and wifi internet service. Amenities include 5 picnic shelters with fire rings and grills. The largest shelter also has a full kitchen. We also have two ponds that are catch and release as well as two playgrounds. We are conveniently located just over 1 mile from Walmart and various restaurants, 4 miles from downtown where all of the Mayberry attractions can be found, and a short 15 minute drive to Pilot Mountain. We are also surrounded by many wineries. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing