We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Mayberry with family”

Mount Airy Museum of Regional History
Ranked #8 of 36 things to do in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marietta, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Visiting Mayberry with family”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Wanted to see all about the history of the area so stopped in while waiting on someone. The information was interesting and feel I learn something that day. The different areas were easy to see and read. The 3 fool was the tower of the clock on the building and you were able to see 360* view of the mountains and town beautiful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    34
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to learn local history”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We loved going to all the museum in town.....this one is great don't miss it. So much information on the area....and done very well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SchelleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Saura Indians to Siamese Twins, this one has a bit of everything...”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I would be tempted to say that this is one of the nicest small museums I have every visited, however I can't. It's actually not that small..... It is however, quite attractive. The Mount Airy area has a wide variety of interesting historical features, and the museum covers most of them quite well, from the Native Saura people who once lived here, to the Granite quarrying industry, to moonshining, to Donna Fargo. There are stuffed turkeys and deer, fire engines (the kids can slide down a fire pole and ring a foot operated fire bell), old weaving looms and a recreated pioneer cabin and tobacco barn. There is a display on the extensive folk music traditions of the area, including how to make a banjo or fiddle. And, yes, there's a small bit on Andy Griffith, but they leave most of that to the other museum in Mount Airy. On the fourth floor (yes, they have four floors, and an elevator) there are several activities the children will enjoy, including an area with huge foam logs that can be used to build a small log cabin, and stations where the kids can try on old period clothing. My nine year old daughter loved it.

For those among us who are fascinated by the strange and offbeat, there is a nice display on Chang and Eng Bunker, the famous "Siamese Twins" who retired to the Mount Airy area after making a tidy sum exhibiting themselves all over the world. They both married (to different women) and had numerous kids each, some of whose descendants still live in the area.

There was plenty of parking within a block or two, and it's in easy walking distance of the Snappy Lunch and Floyd's Barber shop. The gentleman working the info desk was very friendly and helpful. I'd strongly suggest you stop by if you're in the area. Fee was $6 for adults and $4 for kids, which I thought was pretty resonable considering all they have.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyaskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Want to know the origin of "house warming"?”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Coming from the UK, having married into an American family based in Mt Airy, I finally got the chance to visit the Museum of Regional History and find out a lot more about the development of this friendly town. This was a bonus visit, rather than a planned excursion, and will merit from a longer visit than I was able to make this time round. Bank on 3-4 hours to see everything and read everything.

Greeted with customary and sincere politeness, we paid the inexpensive fee to enter and spent 2 hours perusing exhibits across 4 floors. It would have been longer, but my 9 year old finally lost the will to live, or at least, read another information board.

He did enjoy the observation floor...the highest point in a building in Mount Airy from where you can see 360 of the surrounding area, with panoramic photos to explain the vistas and landmarks.

I really could have spent a lot longer reading and absorbing. Absolutely comprehensive story from early settlers, through the arrival of the railroad and on to the more modern day. Famous people hailing from the town, a moonshine still, conjoined twins, an original log cabin..too much to write here. Fascinating, well presented, immaculate and informative. There are elements to satisfy all ages, with different levels of appreciation of museums and history.

Being from UK, with millennia of history to indulge, it is lovely to come to a country where the civilised nation is still only a little over 500 years old, and the origins are still visible at every turn. I aim to come back next time with more time to spend and a greater thirst for local and national history.

An inexpensive gift shop was a bonus - far too often, these places try and fleece you for even more money, but we took away several souvenirs to remind us of our trip.

A good value and very pleasant and enlightening experience in a wonderful and friendly family town.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rawmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This museum is an absolute treasure and should be a required stop for visitors. The displays are excellent and informative. The fire trucks on display are amazing; as is the early Indian information. I have been to the state museum in Raleigh and this ranks at the same level of that-just on a smaller scale. The top floor (the 4th I think) has an excellent view of the area. From this vantage point you can look and see all of the surrounding area. It is actually the highest point in Mt. Airy (not that this is saying much.) there are photos and labels to help you identify what you are looking at and in which direction. When I was in Seattle I went to the top of the Space Needle and viewed the surrounding area from there.......this is similar-but on a MUCH smaller scale.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Airy Museum of Regional History also viewed

 

Been to Mount Airy Museum of Regional History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing