We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Stop if in Mt. Airy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scoops

Scoops
Ranked #3 of 6 Dessert in Mount Airy
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in a bus next to sculpture park
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
318 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A Must Stop if in Mt. Airy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

When we checked into the Best Western Bryson Inn in Mt. Airy, we were looking for a late afternoon ice cream treat. The lady who checked us in immediately said we had to go to Scoops. The owner is a metal artist who moved here from Buffalo, NY. He has created a neat garden walk displaying some interesting examples of his work. This is adjacent to some of the best ice cream sundaes you can find. There were 4 of us (2 couples) and we each thoroughly enjoyed our selections. The owner joined us while we were eating and gave us some great suggestions for additional things to do while in the area. We liked it so good, we made a second stop here on our way out of town the next day! Scoops was certainly a great suggestion and we will definitely stop again if we are ever back in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BeachGrandmax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unique and interesting ice cream ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Very neat place to visit! One of the only ice cream shops in Mt airy.
Fair prices for a lot of ice cream!
Parking isn't the best and they are rather slow on service but very nice staff and great tasting ice cream!

Helpful?
2 Thank This1Loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our after Camp Hanes tradition!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is our annual after-camp stop! Great ice cream selection, pleasant & quick service, but it is the bus storefront, roaming chickens, creative multi-tiered decks and fantastic welded sculptures that make it super memorable. My husband can't make the pick-up tonight from camp, so I am bringing a cooler with ice see we can bring our treats home. We'll just have to watch our chickens while nomming on the milkshakes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Scoops is one of our favorite summer traditions! The Love Boat is awesome! The Sculpture walk is also neat! A Must stop in Mount Airy!

Helpful?
2 Thank Amber F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's a great little place for a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great ice cream and selection. They have a little bit of everything. Love the ambiance. Have a cute little garden. Bring cash. No cards.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scoops also viewed

 

Been to Scoops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing