We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a good restaurant.”

Olympia Family Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 103 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
North Myrtle Beach
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“More than just a good restaurant.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about this restaurant. We were there for dinner and they certainly serve big portions. My husband had flounder and loved it. It had marinated chicken and it was delicious. Our waitress was Lauren and she was just as sweet and helpful as could be. She checked on as several times to make sure we didn't need anything. Another manager came over checking also. The restaurant was packed and I think we were the only out of towners. Everyone knew each other and greeted each of with friendly smiles and hugs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jgrandsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food bad service!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The food is really good but the waitress was too busy flirting to wait tables. If I don't leave a tip it's bad service and I didn't leave one!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Airy NC
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Better than home”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Some dishes are harder to do at home and get it right. Beef liver is one of those. Here it is is very lightly battered and fried lightly, crisp, tender. It is topped with onions and gravy too, but I like mine plain. There is a long list of side dishes to choose from mashed potatoes, green beans, fried okra, beets. Pick 3 of your favorites plus a bread choice. Of course, there are lots of other choices sandwiches, pancakes, salads and daily specials, but its hard to pick something else when you've found a great dish.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent food, great service, and inexpensive meals that will fill your belly. Closest you can get to home cooked food if you are travelling or passing through Mount Airy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shanndam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etowah, nc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We are moving here and went based on someone's suggestion. The place was packed. We had flounder on a Friday and it was great. Our waitress spent all kinds of time talking to us. Super friendly, clean and good. I can't believe this place isn't ranked higher.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olympia Family Restaurant also viewed

 
Mount Airy, NC
 

Been to Olympia Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing