We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wally's Service Station

Wally's Service Station
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
639 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
“Fun Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This stop was one of the highlights of my trip. It is about a 10 minute walk from the downtown shops and there is some parking available if you want to drive. There is a replica of the jail and you can sit at the desk and go into the jail cells. Next door, there is Wally's Service Station which has the police car parked out there if it isn't on a tour. There are a few chairs to sit on outside of the shop. Inside the shop is gift shop with a lot of Mayberry merchandise. Bathrooms are also available. In the back there is the Darling Cottage. If you are a Mayberry fan this is a place you need to stop if in Mt. Airy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    48
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Part of the Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved it. Had a small cabin out back and several old vehicles nearby. Very friendly staff was answering questions and really seemed interested in interacting with customers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Completely corny, but very fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Husband and I did this first so we knew what to do in Mt. Airy. Driver was great. Very funny and gave a lot of facts about the town. Nice to see a town embrace who they are and what makes them famous. Gotta love small business owners that are making a difference in a small town. Great fun. We visited 4 vineyards after this. Highly recommend the area for great wine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This should be the #1 Attraction!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was the best attraction in Mt. Airy! The people are extremely friendly, you can get great pictures of the police cars when they aren't on tours, and have the jail set up next door. They also have the Darling's cabin in the back. Great place for photos and feels more like Mayberry than the downtown area! We had a great time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
922 reviews
420 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
“Nostalgia!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

For years, Mt. Airy has been a mandatory stop on my way north, so I can get my annual fired pork chop sandwich at Snappy Lunch. Somehow I missed Wally's until last year. It isn't a truly accurate reconstruction of downtown Mayberry or Wally's, but it brings everything together in one place that, while touristy, is off the radar of most tourists. BTW, the service station is a real, former gas station dating from 1937. A couple of minutes out of the center of town, you get away from the crowds of downtown Mt. Airy and return to the nostalgic serenity of Mayberry. Photo ops abound. I got my wife to take goofy but fun pictures of me at Andy's desk and in Otis' cell, and we have numerous photos of other things - Make sure to notice the simple, small memorial to Ernest T. Bass in the courthouse. Even the souvenirs here seem nicer than in town. This is where you get the Squad Car Tours. I am going to plan extra time for this next year. You get to tour the town in a replica of Barney's patrol car, with a knowledgeable guide. At $35 per carload, it's not overpriced, especially if you're smart and team up with a couple of strangers to fill the car. Besides, it's the only thing at Wally's that has a fee.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wally's Service Station also viewed

 

Been to Wally's Service Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing