We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Romantic Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Romantic Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

Robin is a wonderful hostess! Breakfast was a gourmet treat both mornings. The home is beautiful and inviting; we had some of the best sleep during our weekend getaway. The inn is centrally located within several NC and VA wineries. Robin was very helpful with directions and reservations. My husband and I will definitely come back. I highly recommend!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbh1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
385
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
raleigh, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2007

This is such a beautiful Bed and Breakfast! Robin and J.R. take their business seriously and make sure that their guests enjoy their stay. I enjoyed looking at the historic homes in downtown Mount Airy and the surrounding Blue Ridge during my morning walks. The house was beautifully decorated for the season and the breakfast and cookies were the best I've had in a long time! Despite all the hard work to make everything perfect and inviting, Robin still took a moment to sit down with us at breakfast and talk. I felt very comfortable, especially when playing with their two beautiful pups.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank apudelski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

My husband, who is a devoted Andy Griffith fan, and I have just returned from celebrating our 31st anniversary in "Mayberry". My discovery of Sobotta Manor while searching for lodging made our trip even more special. Robin and Junior have perfected the art of hospitality. When I asked for information regarding dining reservations, Robin sent me excellent recommendations and then once my choices had been made, she made the reservations for me. Spending time at Sobotta Manor is like "going home"..... I am looking forward to returning.....

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank vol50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

What a wonderful place! Our weekend was splendid. The B&B is absolutely gorgous and very comfortable. The food was out of this world and Robin and JR were very accomidating and pleasant. They went out of their way to make our stay a great one...giving us directions, making reservations for dinner, making sure our room was ok, etc.

The bed was ohhhhhh so comfortable and the shower was great! What water pressure!

Anyway...we were so pleased that we booked it again for next year!
Visit! You won't be disappointed.
The Parkers

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Gardengirl-2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

Accommodations were elegant yet very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious! Robin and JR were wonderful hosts! We had a wonderful, relaxing time and felt as if we were staying with old friends. Thanks for making this girl's weekend such a wonderful time!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank CABNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2007

Sobotta was a delightful find. We would recommend it to anyone. Jr and Robin had decorated every room in the house beautifully. Our hosts and the house were warm and inviting. The food was top notch. I don't think you could get a better breakfast anywhere. Every morning there was a delicous creation waiting for us. We chose the basement room-we love it! The garden was lovely and relaxing to stroll in and as well as sit and just enjoy. Without a doubt-book your stay here!

  • Liked — hard to pick one thing-the rooms and bedding were top notch
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nastrain2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willoughby, ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2007

The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The breakfasts are extremely good with a different type every morning. We left with the feeling very relaxed from our stay. Robin and Jr not only took care of our needs as owners but we feel we made friends with them also. Clayton and Cher ( dogs) are an extra to the house. If you love animals these two we keep you entertained. The gardens in the back are beautiful and a place to sit and enjoy the sunset after a day of touring, We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary4156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing