We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Elegance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chocowinity, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True Elegance!”
Reviewed 26 April 2008

Our stay at Sobotta was just perfect. The Hester's home is absolutely elegant....decorated beautifully but still comfortable and cozy. Robin's breakfast was superb and served with the style of a 4-star chef. JR's gardens are gorgeous, and the views from the porch make you feel as if you are in an enchanted garden. Thank you, Robin and JR, for sharing your home with us. P.S. We loved the dogs too!

Stayed April 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamlico100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
394
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We love this inn. The house is beautifully decorated. The bed was so comfortable and the linens were luxurious. Delicious chocolate chip cookies in the evening. The breakfast was not only amazing, but also served with the greatest attention to detail.
We felt spoiled during our stay. As wonderful as the inn was, our favorite part was meeting our host and hostess. They are charming and so knowledgeable about the area and the history of their home. The gardens are gorgeous! We will be back!!

  • Liked — Our Hosts and the view of the garden from our room.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joekrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2008

This is the perfect place to stay when visiting Mt. Airy. It is very comfortable, and convenient to everything in the area. Walking distance to all Mayberry sites and a short drive to the wineries. The food and the service was excellent.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank cmd113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chapel hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2008

This was a great place with so much more than we expected. Quaint and beautiful, this house matched the setting and really made our stay special. The experience of staying was fun, the house was clean and the breakfast was fantastic :).

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jcconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Land, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

We frequent Bed and Breakfasts throughout the year and have a very good idea as to what to expect. Our stay at Sobotta was fabulous for the bullet points listed below. Pay special attention to the last one which names why our Innkeeper, Robin, was truly extraordinary.

1. Beautiful,CLEAN and wonderfully historic home; the town of Mount Airy, was truly "Mayberry" for these two Andy Griffith Show fans.

2. Luxurious bedding! High thread count sheets and comfort that left us feeling incredibly refreshed and wanting to stay in bed!

3. 5 star food that was both outstanding in taste and presentation. What a treat! We felt so pampered!

4. For the first time in all of our years at B & B's (and in our Innkeeper's experience as well), we were awakened by very rowdy schoolteachers who were also staying at the Sobotta at 1:15 in the morning! They came in incredibly disorderly and despite Robin's plea for them to quiet down out of respect for her other guests, they maintained a ridiculously high level of noise for 30 more minutes. Needless to say, being awakened with such a jolt left it very hard for me to get back to sleep. I did not go back to sleep for 2 hours and my son (Mother/Son special weekend) never could that night. Our Innkeeper Robin, apologized profusely in the morning, and depsite the fact that it was not her fault that these guests had such a lack of propriety, she insisted on paying for our dinner at the Elkin Winery that night (you must eat here, by the way). Thankfully, the next night, these women were much more considerate thanks to Robin's insistence and we were able to rest beautifully. In closing, my son and I were incredibly impressed with Robin's graciousness towards us and many successes in accomodating us so that our trip was simply beautiful. Thank you Robin!

  • Liked — The food and bedding
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WeluvInns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2008

This was my first visit to a BnB, and it completely exceeded my expectations. Robin and Junior were so friendly and accommodating, from helping us book a room to recommending things to do in the area. We stayed in room 4 which was so cozy and comfortable that the only reason we made it out of bed in the morning was to eat the delicious breakfast! Professionally run, wonderful hosts, clean, comfortable, and relaxing. Highly recommended!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestraveling2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2008

John Sobotta, though we never knew him, had a tremendous influence on our family - the land he donated to the BSA at Raven Knob is "sacred ground" for my husband and son. Both grew up attending camp there, and have served on the Aqatics Staff for years. So, when my husband drove by and saw the B&B, he was eager to spend some time in the home of the man he so admired. Being the wonderful husband he is, he gave 'us' a 2 night get-away for Christmas! We couldn't have enjoyed the experience more...The Hesters' hospitality was gracious; the atmosphere warm and inviting; the food superb. I think Mr. Sobotta would be very proud that his legacy continues in such a personal way!

  • Liked — Comfort and hospitality
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BalerRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
721 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
183 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing