We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lovely home and hostess” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Airy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ruston, Louisiana, United States
1 review
“Lovely lovely home and hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

What a delightful experience to have the opportunity to stay at Sobatta Manor Bed and Breakfast. Spur of the moment decision after reading reviews online. Felt very fortunate that accommodations were available. Beautiful home, beautiful gardens, delicious and beautiful breakfast. I would definitely recommend this lovely bed and breakfast and would love to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy4976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
385
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sobotta Manor for two nights. The room we stayed in was exceptionally clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The shower was a "sit down" shower which was a little unusual but it worked out just fine. The house is charming and comfortable. We enjoyed Saturday afternoon sitting outside in the garden listening to the professional blue grass musicians who were practicing next door. Robin was a gracious hostess full of insight and experience. Breakfast was wonderful! Robin was nice enough to make a substitute dish for me at the last minute. We also appreciated the range of coffee, teas, and soda available to the guests. We enjoyed walking to nearby Trio restaurant and Old North State Winery. Round Peak Vineyards is 8 miles down the road and a great place to check out. There is not a lot going on in Mount Airy so I would recommend it for a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

The house is spacious, lovely, and so clean! Comfy beds and a delicious breakfast, too. Even though we were the only guests in the middle of the week, breakfast was still a 3-course affair (and they were very accommodating with our dietary requests). We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Room #3 is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenia, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Great stay in this historic manor! Outstanding hospitality - thanks Barbara and Betty!! Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. Sitting down to a cup of hot tea and homemade cookies in the manor's wonderful living room was a nice way to unwind after a long drive. Morning breakfast was a perfect start to the day!!! Quiet, super convenient location for Main St Mt Airy. If we ever find ourselves back in your neck of the woods, we'll definitely come back. Thanks again Barbara and Betty for representing Robin's great manor so well!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife, 2 other couples and I had an absolute blast in the NC wine country in February. We called the Sobotta Manor our home for 2 nights and had a fantastic meal in Mt. Airy at Trio on Friday night followed by visiting the NC wineries on Saturday and finishing up at Twenty One & Main in Elkin.
Robin and J.R. Hestor, innkeepers at The Sobotta Manor were wonderful. Not only is the B&B absolutely lovely, their knowledge of the area is extensive and Robin was quite helpful mapping out our voyage. And wow... Breakfast... fantastic! What a great treat!
Marc H. Raleigh, NC

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutz-About-Golf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Beautiful bed & breakfast and a fun place with friendly people. This was the best b & b we've stayed in. The food was wonderful. Have told many friends about it, will love to go back. Robin was a great hostess and she recommended great places to eat. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbp1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

The Sobotta Manor was a Wonderful place for my husband and I to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. It was very relaxing for us! As for the amazing breakfast, Robin goes all out to serve the best! We also enjoyed meeting the other couples that were staying at The Sobotta Manor as well! I looking forward to returning for a longer stay.

Room Tip: For a little more privacy, room 5 has a private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
10.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
3.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing