We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The place to go for a fun relaxing weekend. The food was amazing and the service was great not to mention the bed was the most comfortable bedi have ever slept on. This was my 3rd stay here and I see many more in my future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
396
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a last minute opportunity to help out at the Budbreak wine festival in Mount Airy and wanted to make a quick get away out of it. Places to stay in Mt Airy are few and far between and not in line with places that we usually stay at. We were very lucky that Sobotta had a last minute cancellation. There is usually a 2 night minimum on the weekends, but since it was last minute, we were very pleased that Robin was able to accomodate us for one night. We stayed in room 3 and it was beautiful. The room was tastefully decorated in warm inviting colors and the king sized bed was very comfortable making it difficult to drag ourselves out for breakfast. As comfy as the bed may be, do not miss the breakfast as it will be the highlight of your stay. The bathroom in the suite was period decorated and made us feel like we were back in time. This room overlooks the beautiful gardens. Although this was an overcast, chilly weekend, we were able to spend some time outside in the garden enjoying a bottle of wine and the serenity of the setting. There are cats that wander around outside as well as a groundhog and plenty of birds that add interest to the area. The house is within walking distance of downtown and several restaurants which makes it super convenient when enjoying a bottle of wine at the manor or restaurant. We had a late dinner at Trio (early for us at 8pm, but late for the town). So be aware, the town does close up pretty early. It is a small southern town, so you can't expect that they conform to big european city time tables, just plan your activities accordingly. I don't think I have ever watched a full episode of Andy Griffith (I know, sacrilege), but if you are a fan of the show, you will have plenty of memorabilia to drool over. No matter where you go in town, even into a bar bathroom, you will find an Auntie, Andy, Barney, Goober something. When we got back to the manor after dinner, we were able to enjoy a few minutes of conversation with Robin and some of the other guests before retiring to our room for some R&R. In the morning, we were able to enjoy a cup of coffee in the livingroom with the other guests before breakfast. The couches are deep and comfortable and the coffee was great. Robin outdoes herself with the gourmet breakfast and will accomodate dietary preferences and restrictions. The breakfast was the perfect pace allowing for both digestion and conversation. Overall, this is a great B&B in a great little town that offers nostalgia, relaxation and adventure meeting the desires of everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snggglbnnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gilead, NC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Enjoyed gracious hospitality and wonderful breakfasts. Lovely house and good location to town. Stayed in Room 4 which was somewhat dark but spacious, quiet and very clean with a very comfortable king size bed. It would benefit by providing two comfortable chairs like Rooms 2 and 3 have. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 appear to be brighter than Room 4 and have two chairs which Room 4 does not. Room 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Charming & elegant home within walking distant of downtown. Our room, the gardens, the breakfast, and hospitality were all first class. Would highly recommend the Sabotta if you are visiting Mt. Airy or traveling through the area. We will definitely be repeat guests!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Had a wonderful stay for one night as we traveled the Blue Ridge Parkway on a motorcycle trip with friends. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the food delicious and elegantly prepared. Robin is a wonderful hostess and we plan to return for a hiking trip with our dogs once the "pet suite" is ready. A definite highlight on our trip.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have king-size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many B&Bs and Sobotta Manor is one of the best. The house has the elegant air of Old World charm throughout (I particularly enjoyed the living room setting.) and the gardens are a beautiful oasis to restore the soul. Our room and bed were quite comfortable. Furthermore, the breakfasts were truly gourmet and we so enjoyed our conversations with our hostess and other guests during morning coffee and breakfast.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room which overlooked the gardens - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, va
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stayed here this week on the spur on the moment. I grew up in Mt. Airy and staying there was like being at home. The rooms are great, the breakfast was wonderful. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
737 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#5 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
597 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing