We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 June 2008

I was looking for a special way to suprise my wife for our 34th wedding anniversary and I found the Sobatto Manor. Since my wife loves the Andy Griffith Show, this made my chose easy. After seeing the house on line, I knew it would be perfect for my surprise. Robin made everything even easier. She made dinner reservations for us at a great resturant. The town is great.
My wife really enjoyed seeing all the sights of Mt. Airy. But the best part was staying at the Sobotta Manor. If you are ever in the area, please stay there. You'll love the way each room has it's own character. Robin's attention to detail really shows her love for the house and what she does to make each guest feel special. I'd give the Sobotta Manor 5 Stars""!!!! Thanks for a great time. Roy and Carolyn from Spartanburg ,South Carolina

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mayberryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2008

My husband and I enjoyed a beautful and relaxing weekend at Sobotta Manor. The Innkeepers are wonderful, entertaining and down to earth people. The home is lovely, warm and welcoming. Breakfast each morning was delicious and served as though you are in a five star hotel. The innkeepers shared some history of the home which was quite interesting. They also provided information concerning the town and surrounding area and were happy to make reservations and give directions to all of the restuarants and points of interest in Mt. Airy. I would highly recommend the Sobotta Manor to those planning a trip to the area.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank sherwood1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We just returned from our second stay at the Sobotta Manor and we have become even bigger fans. We stayed in the room overlooking the gorgeous gardens. The bedding and linens are so plush we had the best nights rest. Robin is charming and so knowledgeable about many things. The Hesters have created a luxurious get-away spot. The food is a whole other matter - Robin is a genius in the kitchen and serves the most elegant breakfast imaginable. We enjoyed every crumb!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kristy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

June 3, 2008
My husband and I just returned from a trip to the wine country and stayed in the Sobotta Manor in Mt. Airy. I cannot speak highly enough of Robin and JR. The hospitality was wonderful and they were full of helpful information, including a tip about lunch at one of the wineries. The breakfasts were gourmet all the way--food and presentation. The house was lovely and the gardens beautiful. We stayed in Room 1 which is on the front and were amazed at how quiet it was.
A nice bonus was meeting Clayton and Cher, the two "fur children".
I would definitely return and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a lovely, pampered stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitethorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

2nd visit was as good as the first. The upstairs room overlooking the beautiful garden added to the elegance and charm. We will visit again, there is much more to Mt. Airy than Main Street.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cyclismtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

We stayed in room 2 which overlooks the beautiful garden in the back of the home. The accomodations were excellent, breakfast was wonderful, and the coffee ( their special blend) was terrific. Most of all, JR and Robin are wonderful folks. They are full of information about the area, which we found very helpful in deciding what to see and where to eat. We drove around the area and looked at the outside of there B&Bs, some were very nice, but Sobotta is tops in our opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FandDinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Our stay at the Sobotta Bed and Breakfast was wonderful! Robin prepared amazing breakfasts -- gourmet all the way! Junior was off on a golf trip, so we didn't get to meet him, but the house and grounds were lovely. We enjoyed Cher and Clayton (the dogs), and found them to be well mannered. We highly recommend the Sobotta and the North Carolina wineries we visited during our trip to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
754 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
613 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
194 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range: £103 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing