We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved every detail of the Sobotta Manor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mooresville, NC
1 review
“Loved every detail of the Sobotta Manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2008

My husband and I enjoyed two wonderful days at Sobotta Manor. Inside and out, the home and yard are beautiful, elegant, clean, and relaxing. There are no words to adequately describe the exquisite three course gourmet breakfasts. We enjoyed our short stroll to downtown Mt Airy, and visiting in the shops with the friendly "Mayberry" folks. We were able to visit wineries in the area with ease, chauffeured by our host. On a scale of one to five, the hosts of Sobotta deserve a 10! Their attention to every detail made our stay most memorable. Clayton and Cher also welcomed and entertained us.

  • Liked — Clean elegance with exquisite food.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCJAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
386
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moore,SC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Sobotta Manor. The rooms and grounds were immaculate. The breakfast was fantastic. The inn keepers made you feel right at home. It was a truly relaxing and enjoyable experience.

  • Liked — The room,the gardens, the breakfast and the inn keepers
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zeep51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

My wife and I had a great stay at this B&B. The location is quaint and Mt. Airy is a cute little town. Robin is a wonderful host and even better chef. We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PAWinefanPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

I was looking for a special way to suprise my wife for our 34th wedding anniversary and I found the Sobatto Manor. Since my wife loves the Andy Griffith Show, this made my chose easy. After seeing the house on line, I knew it would be perfect for my surprise. Robin made everything even easier. She made dinner reservations for us at a great resturant. The town is great.
My wife really enjoyed seeing all the sights of Mt. Airy. But the best part was staying at the Sobotta Manor. If you are ever in the area, please stay there. You'll love the way each room has it's own character. Robin's attention to detail really shows her love for the house and what she does to make each guest feel special. I'd give the Sobotta Manor 5 Stars""!!!! Thanks for a great time. Roy and Carolyn from Spartanburg ,South Carolina

  • Liked — the beautiful rooms and great food
  • Disliked — nothing- everything was great
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mayberryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

My husband and I enjoyed a beautful and relaxing weekend at Sobotta Manor. The Innkeepers are wonderful, entertaining and down to earth people. The home is lovely, warm and welcoming. Breakfast each morning was delicious and served as though you are in a five star hotel. The innkeepers shared some history of the home which was quite interesting. They also provided information concerning the town and surrounding area and were happy to make reservations and give directions to all of the restuarants and points of interest in Mt. Airy. I would highly recommend the Sobotta Manor to those planning a trip to the area.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank sherwood1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

We just returned from our second stay at the Sobotta Manor and we have become even bigger fans. We stayed in the room overlooking the gorgeous gardens. The bedding and linens are so plush we had the best nights rest. Robin is charming and so knowledgeable about many things. The Hesters have created a luxurious get-away spot. The food is a whole other matter - Robin is a genius in the kitchen and serves the most elegant breakfast imaginable. We enjoyed every crumb!!

  • Liked — the food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kristy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

June 3, 2008
My husband and I just returned from a trip to the wine country and stayed in the Sobotta Manor in Mt. Airy. I cannot speak highly enough of Robin and JR. The hospitality was wonderful and they were full of helpful information, including a tip about lunch at one of the wineries. The breakfasts were gourmet all the way--food and presentation. The house was lovely and the gardens beautiful. We stayed in Room 1 which is on the front and were amazed at how quiet it was.
A nice bonus was meeting Clayton and Cher, the two "fur children".
I would definitely return and highly recommend it to anyone who wants a lovely, pampered stay.

  • Liked — Robin and JR and the food.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitethorn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
BEST WESTERN Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing