We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a surprise the Sobotta Manor is!!! Better than the pictures is all I can say. Everything was perfect, from the food to the rooms. Everything. Robin is a wonderful host. We will visit again. Not to leave out all the surrounding vineyards you can visit. Great location. We stayed July 11 thru July 13.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4. All are great but room #3 and #4 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richtam777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this lovely place before and we glad that we could stay on very short notice. We were returning from a vacation trip to Canada and called as we were returning home so we decided to stop back in Mount Airy, NC for the night. We called Robin and she did have a room for us. We actually stayed in Room 4 and it was the same one we had on a previous visit. We love that room and the bed is divine! Like sleeping on a cloud! It is very comfortable, cozy and nice. We were welcomed at the door by Robin, one of the owners and we immediately felt at home! Like visiting an old friend ! We had traveled with our foot legged child, a lil Yorkie and he was welcome as well as the owners are pet lovers too! We always meet new people there and enjoy the hospitality they offer.
The breakfast they served was a delicious berry yogurt parfait, sausage, french toast with a mixed berry syrup and as I am gluten intolerant she specially fixed me yummy pancakes with berry syrup! The breakfast alone is worth staying for!
We will return again to Sobotta Manor for our third stay.. We just hope to stay a full weekend next time. The town of Mount Airy is a quaint small town where Andy Griffith lived and there is lots to see and do in the area. There are some wonderful wineries in the area to go to and Sobotta Manor offers a tour for visitors on request which we hope to do on our next stay with friends.
Stay at Sobotta Manor ...where southern hospitality and small town charm is the best!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On the spur of the moment, my wife and I booked a night at the Sobotta Manor B & B. I called at the last minute, and Robin could not have been friendlier or more helpful. She then greeted us at the front door, gave a quick tour of this beautiful home, and showed us to our room (#3 with the view of the garden). When we asked about a winery tour and dinner, she quickly arranged a tour and tasting at Shelton Vineyards as well as dinner reservations.

The B&B was great. We have stayed at several and this was right at the top. After dinner we walked through the garden then sat on the porch talking and counting fireflies. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was phenomenal. We had a great conversation with another couple over breakfast.

Robin not only took care of every need, but she was so warm and friendly.

The only negative was staying only one night, but hopefully we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice size with privates baths. We chose #3 because of the view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After traveling all over the US and abroad, I've never before been motivated to write a review. Sobatta Manor and its hosts, Robin and Junior, are outstanding. The Manor is lovely, all the rooms are beautiful, the breakfast is gourmet, and most especially, Robin & Junior are warm sophisticated people who have traveled extensively themselves. They and Junior's sister, Pam, made our visit a pleasure. I would recommend Sobatta Manor to anyone looking for a bit of casual elegance, perfectly located in the heart of Mount Airy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A friend and I traveled to Mt. Airy for an overnight before planning to pick cherries at the Levering Orchards just north of town. What a treasure awaited us. The Sobotta and innkeepers were everything and more and made our visit really memorable. We walked to downtown and enjoyed strolling around in a vibrant little place full of antiques stores, little cafes, and many interesting things. The gardens at Sobotta are just lovely and carefully tended, as are the guests at this remarkable B and B. Rooms, breakfasts, hospitality are everything we could have wanted.

Room Tip: Room 3 was on the garden side and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Sobotta Manor is absolutely beautiful! This is is very well taken care of with love to details and comfort. Also, it is dog friendly and we stayed in a room 1 with a separate entrance to let the dog out. We had an amazing breakfast which was made earlier than usual because we had to leave, very accommodating The photos on the website don't do this Inn justice, so much prettier with vibrant colors and decor!!! I could of stayed for ever!!! Thanks to the lovely Inn keepers...best stay ever!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Room 1 is on the first floor with separate entrance. It was quiet and comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josette1155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My Mom and I were guests at Sobotta Manor for two nights over the weekend. We travel extensively and have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts. Sobotta Manor by far is the best establishment we have patronized.

First and foremost, we are dog lovers and thoroughly enjoyed Cher and Clayton. They are incredibly well behaved and adorable! We spent some time in the stunning reading/library room and played a game of checkers on the veranda (Mom won!). Personally, I enjoyed the out of this world tea collection - tea drinkers will be very happy here!

Robin is a wonderful person. She was so helpful and attentive throughout our stay, including making a reservation for us at the Harvest Grille at Shelton Vineyards (which was superb!). Her sister-in-law Pam was also charming and hospitable. We enjoyed talking with both of them. If you are fancying a trip to Italy, be sure to ask Robin to show you her breathtaking photos.

Sobotta Manor is within a short walking distance to small town Mayberry, where we highly recommend dinner at Trio. :) We would love to revisit in the future and explore more of what North Carolina has to offer!

Room Tip: Stayed in a lovely room (Room 1) on the first floor (or the ground floor for the Europeans). All of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Airy hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
197 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Bees B & B
#3 of 5 in Mount Airy
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range: £105 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing