We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Mount Airy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pawleys Island
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Robin made our birthday celebration super special. Sobotta Manor is a charming B&B with a lot of history shared by our hostess, Robin. Our breakfasts were beautifully presented and very, very tasty. The rooms are lovely and you can tell a lot of care went into them as not one thing was missed to make the guest feel at home. We had time to visit with Robin between going into town and/or our to dinner. She is charming and loves sharing her hobby...traveling abroad. Don't miss this B&B if you're anywhere near Mount Airy, NC.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank patlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
54
391
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited Sobatta Manor B&B a number of years ago and decided to return this summer, as it is a convenient stopover on our frequent trips from Georgia to the mid-Atlantic. We were thrilled to find that it is just as lovely as it was then--an affordable, comfortable and serene retreat in a picture-postcard town. Robin is a totally gracious and accommodating hostess and goes out of her way to make each of her guests feel cared for and at home for the duration of their stay. We hope to return again and again!

Room Tip: All are beautiful--the downstairs room we had will accommodate a well-behaved pet, as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Savannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My Husband and I were wanting to break free from "reality" even if just for a day or two. We are so glad we chose Sobotta Manor B&B. Upon arriving early, we were welcomed by Robin with warmth and a smile! Our Room was absolutely wonderful (#3) the whole Manor is breathtaking, filled with warmth and love. We felt very at ease as if we had known Robin for years. The smell of freshly baked cookies filled the room, as if were were home! Robin let us know where to go and what to see if we were interested, but instead we grabbed a cup of coffee and walked through her beautiful garden that I envisioned one of our daughters getting married their (not now though) that is how spectacular the grounds are. Breakfast was amazing, the conversation amongst all the guests that stayed was awesome...funny how small this great big world is..great people!
If you have not stayed at the Sobotta Manor B&B, we absolutely recommend you staying a night or two or as long as you can..you cannot get this kind of atmosphere, history, and connection at any hotel. We are already planning to go again in a few weeks! our visit was July 12&13

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank hallman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sobotta Manor B & B on our way to a wedding. We received a warm welcome, good tourist information for Mt Airy. Our room was very pleasant, and the breakfast was delicious. Since I am gluten intolerant they prepared gluten free pancakes and a scrambled egg. We enjoyed our stay and will return the next time our travels takes us through that part of the country,

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor and found it very comfortable. I don't know what they other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a surprise the Sobotta Manor is!!! Better than the pictures is all I can say. Everything was perfect, from the food to the rooms. Everything. Robin is a wonderful host. We will visit again. Not to leave out all the surrounding vineyards you can visit. Great location. We stayed July 11 thru July 13.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4. All are great but room #3 and #4 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richtam777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this lovely place before and we glad that we could stay on very short notice. We were returning from a vacation trip to Canada and called as we were returning home so we decided to stop back in Mount Airy, NC for the night. We called Robin and she did have a room for us. We actually stayed in Room 4 and it was the same one we had on a previous visit. We love that room and the bed is divine! Like sleeping on a cloud! It is very comfortable, cozy and nice. We were welcomed at the door by Robin, one of the owners and we immediately felt at home! Like visiting an old friend ! We had traveled with our foot legged child, a lil Yorkie and he was welcome as well as the owners are pet lovers too! We always meet new people there and enjoy the hospitality they offer.
The breakfast they served was a delicious berry yogurt parfait, sausage, french toast with a mixed berry syrup and as I am gluten intolerant she specially fixed me yummy pancakes with berry syrup! The breakfast alone is worth staying for!
We will return again to Sobotta Manor for our third stay.. We just hope to stay a full weekend next time. The town of Mount Airy is a quaint small town where Andy Griffith lived and there is lots to see and do in the area. There are some wonderful wineries in the area to go to and Sobotta Manor offers a tour for visitors on request which we hope to do on our next stay with friends.
Stay at Sobotta Manor ...where southern hospitality and small town charm is the best!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

On the spur of the moment, my wife and I booked a night at the Sobotta Manor B & B. I called at the last minute, and Robin could not have been friendlier or more helpful. She then greeted us at the front door, gave a quick tour of this beautiful home, and showed us to our room (#3 with the view of the garden). When we asked about a winery tour and dinner, she quickly arranged a tour and tasting at Shelton Vineyards as well as dinner reservations.

The B&B was great. We have stayed at several and this was right at the top. After dinner we walked through the garden then sat on the porch talking and counting fireflies. The room was very comfortable and breakfast was phenomenal. We had a great conversation with another couple over breakfast.

Robin not only took care of every need, but she was so warm and friendly.

The only negative was staying only one night, but hopefully we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice size with privates baths. We chose #3 because of the view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
702 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
563 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
176 reviews
15.1 mi away
Primland
Primland
#1 of 3 in Meadows of Dan
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sobotta Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 W Pine St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-4549
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled just minutes from many of North Carolina and the Yadkin Valley finest Wineries and the Blue Ridge Parkway in the heart of Historic Downtown Mount Airy or Mayberry as it is often referred. The inn is a fully restored Tudor Revival, which was originally built in 1932 for a prominent furniture factory owner. Elegant period décor, high ceilings, hardwood floors, private baths and a full gourmet breakfast help make your stay at the Sobotta Manor a memorable experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing