We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cabin good, but beds need new mattresses.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bear Cub Chalet

Bear Cub front with mature trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain
View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Fall view from covered porch
Living area
Bear Cub front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gfam013
Gainesville, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cabin good, but beds need new mattresses.”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We love all "Beary Cozy" locations, however, Bear Cub could use new mattresses on all of the beds. The upstairs (full/queen) bed prevented us from really enjoying our vacation because of sleepless nights and morning back-aches.
Bear Cub, Beary Cozy and Fisherman's Lodge are all VERY convenient to our property, which is what we typically look for in a rental, as we try to make it to Murphy at least twice a year. AND, Greg and Paula are FABULOUS owners! Weekly rental rates are reasonable and competitive.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
These are the only guests that have ever complained about the beds. Most folks say they are very comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbh75
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love This Cabin”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third visit to Bear Cub Chalet and it was another great stay. My grandson was with us this time and he liked how it was close to things to do. Greg and Paula are wonderful people and keep their cabin very clean. Book this rental you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
Thanks for posting this awesome review! We love hosting Y'all every year.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaleyBran...
1 review
“Awesome spot!”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Super great hosts and awesome cabin. Perfect getaway in a remote location, SUPER clean. We had the best time and would recommend to everyone!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thanks for your awesome review!

Paula and Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gak5890
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cabin review”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at Greg and Paula's cabin. The cabin was exactly as described. We were happily surprised to find a welcome gift and a very well appointed kitchen when we arrived! We enjoyed exploring Murphy and hiking in the area during our stay. Coming back to a cozy fireplace at the end of the day was wonderful. Greg and Paula have excellent communication all throughout the booking process. I would recommend booking with them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thanks for the great review!

Paula and Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Home was clean, decorated nicely and well stocked with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. The Hosts were wonderful and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home was as advertised
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2016
Thanks for this great review! Come back soon.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcsolberg
Huron, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at the Bear Cub Chalet for Thanksgiving weekend and visited family nearby. The owners were next door and greeted us upon arrival. Very helpful and friendly! The cabin was the best appointed cabin I have stayed in. An array of pots and pans, towels, dog crate, cooler, etc. It was also decorated beautifully in mountain style. The fenced yard and enclosed deck, as well as a screened porch were very helpful for keeping our dog and grandchildren accounted for. I highly recommend this cabin for rental.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Thanks for this awesome review! Hope Y'all return again.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cbh75
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Beary Cozy Chalet”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This was our second visit to this cabin and we enjoyed the cabin even more this time! It is very clean, cozy, well stocked and in the perfect location. It is close to Murphy NC, Blairsville and Blue Ridge to name a few cities. Our dog loved the back yard that is fenced so she could run around. They even have a crate if you need to use it. Greg and Paula are close by if you need anything like aluminum foil :). They are the best hosts and we are already planning a trip back in the spring! Try it, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
We love having you guys! Can't wait until next time.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing