We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bear Cub Chalet

Bear Cub front with mature trees
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
115 reviews
Bear Cub front with mature trees
View of Candy Mountain
View from deck, church and  Candy mountain
Fall view from covered porch
Living area
Bear Cub front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 115 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kerry C
1 review
“Peaceful and Comfortable”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent a week at the Bear Cub Chalet and felt like we were at home. Not only were there dishes, glasses, silverware and a large variety of cookware, there was also a nice assortment of spices, charcoal for the grill, games, movies, etc. And of course the washer and dryer were very beneficial. The cabin was very clean and felt very spacious.
The temperature was perfect during our stay. We traveled the surrounding areas and took in the beautiful scenery. But mostly we relaxed at the cabin, sitting on the comfortable and spacious deck outside where we were able to read in the tranquil quiet of the area. We plan to visit again during the Thanksgiving holidays with our children and grandchildren (two cabins of course).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thanks for this awesome review! Glad Y'all enjoyed yourselves.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbphil195...
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Second year coming here and really enjoyed our stay. Good central location to everything we came to do in the area. House is super clean with all the amenities you need. Quite and peaceful. Owners respect your privacy but are accessible if you have any questions. Delightful place to be. Will be definitely be back next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Looking forward to you third year in a row stay! Thanks for booking with us.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SayaliRMo...
Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Tennessee
1 review
“Amazing place just what you would look for!❤️”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

It's an excellent place with super good owners! Every second in the house was our own and can't thank enough to Greg and Paula for the hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2017
You are welcome , glad you enjoyed your stay!
Come back anytime.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acouch14
Brewton, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“46th Anniversary getaway”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cabin is very nice. My wife and I have been coming to this area for give or take 12 years when we have the chance. Normally the North Georgia mountain area. The cabin was easy to find, which in the mountains can be interesting at times. It is very roomy. The bedrooms are nice as is the kitchen. Out weekend was meant to be a time that we could unwind and depressurize as the last month had been really crazy. We mainly stayed at the cabin rested and watched a little college football. The one main fun thing we did was to go eat at Rib Country. If you like ribs and you are in an are close to a Rib Country you need to go check them out. We would like to thank Greg and Paula for a nice place to stay and for sharing it with us. We had a great time, even if we didn't do anything. That was the way we wanted it. If we can work it out, we will be back. Maybe for a week next time and check out some of the local bass fishing.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Thanks for this awesome review! We loved meeting this lovely couple. Come back soon to talk sports!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahsheed...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A cozy and lovely mountain home”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was a clean and cozy home located in the mountains of Georgia. The cabin was as pictured and the rooms were simply lovely. This is a home one could live happily ever after in.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Thanks for this cute review! We are close to Georgia but in North Carolina.

Come back soon!

Paula and Greg
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan P
1 review
“Great Cabin with an Outdoor Feel”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What a remarkable place. Exactly what I imagined when I was looking for a log cabin in the woods. The place is clean, the owner's are great, and it is in a beautiful, scenic location. Couldn't ask for anything more.

Only suggestion would be a couple of area rugs to help dampen the echoing in the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Thanks for the great review! Being pet friendly we shy away from rugs.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mommaofki...
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
“Great Cabin”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Another great stay in Bear Cub. This cabin has everything you could need on your vacation. We had a lot of fun hiking to the waterfall, wagon master was great for the kids and the adults had fun too!
Hope to come back next summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2017
Thanks for the kind words and being a repeat.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing