We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cabin to fit everyone's needs.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fishing Bear Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birds come to feed from front deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Birds come to feed from front deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Murphy, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jessica05...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cabin to fit everyone's needs.”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family really enjoyed the cabin. We all had our individual space and bathrooms. We also loved every room had a tv. The cabin had top of the line appliances and emenities.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Thanks for this wonderful review! Hope Y'all return soon.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiddss
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most peacful, mind blowing. Awesom place!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Never forget the memories. With my family there lots of laughter, nd love. I would recommend if you haven't went you must go nd see...!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thanks for this great review! It was great meeting your wonderful family.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Super clean Beautiful cabin”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

3 of my friends and I rented this cabin for a week while visiting the area on a motorcycle trip. I travel to this area every summer because of the beautiful mountain roads. With Greg, I believe I found the person to rent cabins from for many years to come. He was a pleasure to deal with.

The cabin itself was well beyond my expectations. It is simply gorgeous. It is maintained perfectly and has everything a group or family could ever need. We were surprise to find the kitchen cabinets were stocked with items we never expected to find. Top of the line appliances, granite counter tops, this place has it all.

It is located about 14 miles from Murphy which is close enough to run into town to go shopping for necessities, but far enough away to find total peace and quiet in the gated community. All paved roads made it easily accessible by motorcycle.

I've rented many cabins in the area between Blue Ridge and Murphy over the years, and can honestly say this is one of if not the nicest cabins we've stayed in. I will definitely be contacting Greg again to rent one of his cabins in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thanks for this outstanding review! All our cabins are motorcycle friendly with easy access. Come back anytime.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natolie77
1 review
“This house was fantastic!!”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Fishing Bear Lodge was the perfect getaway for our family! It had all we needed. Kitchen is very well stocked. You can tell they have paid great attention to detail. We loved staying here are are very sad to have to return home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thanks for this wonderful review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphanico...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“endroit paisible (peaceful place)”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was a great trip!!! The cabin location was great. It was down from the lake and shortcut close to TN borders( within 7 minutes). The cabin itself was a great atmosphere. I wanted a place where my son could relax away from electronics. Don't get me wrong they had all the electronic amenities. I just wanted them not to use them for a family time weekend getaway. I love the loft bedroom that looked over the front room and dining area but the view out the window as I was in bed was awesome. Each bedroom had its own private bathroom. The beds were comfortable. We only used two bedrooms and wind up staying up in one bed talking and laughing. The kitchen I love as I love to cook( however I cook at home and brought food up so I could spend more time with family). We went down stairs and played ping pong, etc and laughed. Also my sister and I went outside on the porched. It was windy but once we were under the blanket( it felt like a warm spring day) and we sat down and just enjoyed the view for what felt like hours. My sister is in college and was stress at her workload. When we got to the cabin that night she said I needed this and this relax me so. She wants to me to plan her vacations as this was her first vacation. We danced downstairs, played charades, and reflex our stories etc. The details of the cabin are on point, I loved the bear tissue holder the most along with the pictures. My mom loved the fireplace and the view. This was her first vacation in over 30 years. I travel a lot but the serene of Fishing bear lodge was a bless and wonderful experience. I cant described enough this treasured experience. It is a must see and must do..Plus there's a lot to do in NC and TN (7mins away). Don't take my word go see for yourself, I highly encourage you!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Wow!!! What can we say after this awesome review it says it all.

Thanks for taking the time to compose the review!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie W
Thomasville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I was looking for a cozy cabin with a beautiful view and that matched my budget. I happened upon Fishing Bear Lodge and it was the perfect match for me. This cabin is not only beautiful and in the perfect location, but it was also spotless clean. It felt like a home away from home. Greg and Paula are absolutely wonderful and very easy to contact if you should need anything or have any questions. They also left us a very cozy welcome gift. If you love coffee, which I do, then this was the most perfect welcome gift.

If you are looking to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life and come to a piece of paradise in the mountains, then the Fishing Bear Lodge is the perfect place to go. It is Beary Cozy indeed! I will be contacting Greg and Paula again to book one of their cabins. I could not have dreamed up a more perfect vacation. Thank you Greg and Paula for everything!

Jamie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2016
Wow!!! What a great view! Thanks for taking time out of your day to write this review.All our cabins are your home away from home.This is why we have so many repeats.

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki E
Princeville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This cabin a wonderful place to go on vacation. My husband an I loved this place so much that we are renting it again next year. The peace in this cabin was great. The place was very, very clean the kitchen was stocked up with everything we needed. We really out did ourselves with this vacation. This vacation was one of our favorite ones to remember. This cabin had my husband speechless. We got lots of rest and time spent with others. Our pastor and his wife came up and stayed with us they were also speechless. I will give this a A++++++ This is a great place to bring your family to. I loved the Fields of the woods. Great place to visit. Greg and Paula maid everything great. I thank them for being great host! Even booking the cabin was easy no hassle at all. Once again this is a great place to visit my husband and I loved this place. I will see Fishing Bear Lodge again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The master bedroom
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2015
Thanks for this glowing review!! The owners have made this a true luxury lodge!

Greg and Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing