We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on the Hiwassee River”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hiwassee River Cabins
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We just spent a week relaxing and enjoying the serenity of the location of the Hiwassee River Cabins in Murphy, NS. There are two cabins located right on the banks of the river. The cabin was just perfect in location, comfort and price. We loved either sitting on the porch watching the river or sitting inside on the couch watching the fireplace......both were mesmerizing. Dave, the owner, was so friendly and helpful. He gave us advice on local restaurants, which turned out to be terrific places to eat. He also suggested that we visit the John Campbell Folk School, which was truly a pleasure and has us thinking about returning to take classes there. If we do, we will definitely plan to stay at Hiwassee River Cabins again. I couldn't imagine a better place to stay. Thanks, Dave, for making it a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvtravlin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hiwassee River Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Cabin was truly outstanding. All the extras that were provided by Dave and Pat were excellent and made it feel like a home away from home without the stress. The cabin upon arrival was spotless and the bottle of wine with a personal name tag made it very special. We would return to place anytime for a great way to relax in the mountains

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linkster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at Hiwassee River Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thanks, folks, for your kind words. We wish you and yours a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS, and may happy returns.

Dave & Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Cabin is great, sits on a large river. Kayaks provided and pick up or drop off was provided for free. Spent my 40th here with my lady and 4 friends. Owner Dave was super and the trip was the best I had in the mountains. This is a return location for sure. Leave your phone at home the kayak will turn over if you stand up haha

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Scottie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We just returned from our 2nd visit. What a GREAT place and such nice people. We stayed for 4 days and it was a totally relaxing time for us. Bonfire was fun and we knew the people in the next cabin! Great value and the cabin was spotless! We can't wait to return with the grandkids!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarponlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We love these two cabins! If we are going to the mountains we never go anywhere else! Right on the river and close to town there is so much to do. We love floating down the river, campfires, playing games with friends, and relaxing on the porch. These cabins are perfect for a weekend getaway with a spouse or a family vacation. We also love going with our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Nice people....perfect house.....right on the river!!!!!! Seriously, you can't find a better place! I have been coming to this cabin for years, and I plan on coming for many years to come! It is perfect for any holiday or getaway. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smeddy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We love traveling to Murphy, NC to get away from it all for a few days each year with our friends and the best part are these cozy cabins by the river. We love floating down the river in the tubes or kayaks, relaxing in the hot tub, cooking meals and watching the big game on the flat screens, reading by the river, playing a game of horse shoes, and roasting marshmallows over the fire in the fire pit. No need to plan entertainment because it is all there for you!

Room Tip: Both cabins are great and each has 3 bedrooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebradfordpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
4.2 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
4.1 mi away
Best Western Of Murphy
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
275 reviews
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
276 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiwassee River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiwassee River Cabins

Address: 152 Monroe Ln, Murphy, NC 28906-6812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Murphy
Price Range: £74 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two mirror-image riverfront chalet cabins on the Hiwassee River 5 miles from Murphy, in Western North Carolina. Each cabin includes three queen bedrooms, 2 full baths, two covered decks, river and mountain views, gas log fireplace, sunken hot tub for six, unlimited complimentary tubing and kayaking trips, horseshoes, fire gathering pit, large screened gazebo, handicapped accessible, located at end of private road just 5 miles from Murphy. Year round rates: $125/night 2 to 6 nights; $100/night 7 or more nights. Add state/county tax 10.75% And $35 cleaning fee. NEW: $110 million Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino and Resort gaming casino is under construction and is scheduled to open in Murphy in August 2015. Just 9 miles from our cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing