We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, Cozy and full of Fun”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hiwassee River Cabins
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy, Cozy and full of Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband, daughter and I have stayed at Dave and Pat's Hiwassee River Cabins a few times and every time we love it. We have brought extended family with us and always manage to have a great time. The cabins have everything you can want. It seems when we bring family the weather doesn't always cooperate but we love hanging out in the cabin and playing cards, cooking on the grill, and just relaxing. Love the hot tub, river tubing, running in the beautiful mountains surrounding the cabins, and just enjoying nature all around us there. Amazing prices for a three bedroom cabin. Dave and Pat are so nice, they will do anything for you to ensure you enjoy yourself at the cabins. We have gone up there diferent times of the year and it is lovely everytime. Can't wait to come back soon.
Smoot Family

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We just spent a week relaxing and enjoying the serenity of the location of the Hiwassee River Cabins in Murphy, NS. There are two cabins located right on the banks of the river. The cabin was just perfect in location, comfort and price. We loved either sitting on the porch watching the river or sitting inside on the couch watching the fireplace......both were mesmerizing. Dave, the owner, was so friendly and helpful. He gave us advice on local restaurants, which turned out to be terrific places to eat. He also suggested that we visit the John Campbell Folk School, which was truly a pleasure and has us thinking about returning to take classes there. If we do, we will definitely plan to stay at Hiwassee River Cabins again. I couldn't imagine a better place to stay. Thanks, Dave, for making it a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtravlin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Cabin was truly outstanding. All the extras that were provided by Dave and Pat were excellent and made it feel like a home away from home without the stress. The cabin upon arrival was spotless and the bottle of wine with a personal name tag made it very special. We would return to place anytime for a great way to relax in the mountains

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linkster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, Owner at Hiwassee River Cabins, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks, folks, for your kind words. We wish you and yours a VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS, and may happy returns.

Dave & Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Cabin is great, sits on a large river. Kayaks provided and pick up or drop off was provided for free. Spent my 40th here with my lady and 4 friends. Owner Dave was super and the trip was the best I had in the mountains. This is a return location for sure. Leave your phone at home the kayak will turn over if you stand up haha

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scottie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Fl.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We just returned from our 2nd visit. What a GREAT place and such nice people. We stayed for 4 days and it was a totally relaxing time for us. Bonfire was fun and we knew the people in the next cabin! Great value and the cabin was spotless! We can't wait to return with the grandkids!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarponlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Grove, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We love these two cabins! If we are going to the mountains we never go anywhere else! Right on the river and close to town there is so much to do. We love floating down the river, campfires, playing games with friends, and relaxing on the porch. These cabins are perfect for a weekend getaway with a spouse or a family vacation. We also love going with our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Nice people....perfect house.....right on the river!!!!!! Seriously, you can't find a better place! I have been coming to this cabin for years, and I plan on coming for many years to come! It is perfect for any holiday or getaway. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeddy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.1 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Murphy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
13.2 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hiwassee River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hiwassee River Cabins

Property: Hiwassee River Cabins
Address: 152 Monroe Ln, Murphy, NC 28906-6812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two mirror-image riverfront chalet cabins on the Hiwassee River 5 miles from Murphy, in Western North Carolina. Each cabin includes three queen bedrooms, 2 full baths, two covered decks, river and mountain views, gas log fireplace, sunken hot tub for six, unlimited complimentary tubing and kayaking trips, horseshoes, fire gathering pit, large screened gazebo, handicapped accessible, located at end of private road just 5 miles from Murphy. Year round rates: $125/night 2 to 6 nights; $100/night 7 or more nights. Add state/county tax 10.75% And $35 cleaning fee. NEW: $110 million Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino and Resort gaming casino is under construction and is scheduled to open in Murphy in August 2015. Just 9 miles from our cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing