We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Pet Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cobb Creek Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murphy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cobb Creek Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Monroe, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Pet Friendly”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is the place that you will want to visit. Pet friendly was what made our decision.
We fell in love with the place as soon as our car turned down the drive. Veronica made us
feel right at home. Her cabins are the best. The Bear Cabin was our choice, with the convenience of a washer/dryer and a full kitchen. The cabin is so open and airy, with a back and front porch, TV if you have the time. Her little hens left fresh eggs for our breakfast each morning. Our little Boston Terrier loved going out the back to walk along the wondering stream that ran through the property. We would cross the bridge and take her for long walks in the open field. Everything on the property is kept so very clean. The best part for us was the front porch, where we could swing and watch the gentle Alpacas play in the field. She was kind enough to show us the barn where all the Alpacas stay. It rained one afternoon, and we sat on the front porch in the swing, and listened to the rain on the metal roof. Loved it so much, one stayed a extra day. Even though she is located in a very quiet location, you are only a short drive to resturants, etc. My husband loved the history of the Ty Cobb family. Veronica has done a great job of placing information on her Alpacas and the Ty Cobb family in the cabin. You will love the place...Plan to return many times...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARACCC, Owner at Cobb Creek Cabins, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
The Bear Cabin is a lovely two bedroom, one story, handicap friendly cabin that sits right on Cobb Creek and closest to our bridge that leads to another 11 acres of open field, vegetable garden and our tree farm. This is the perfect place for our four legged cabin guests to stretch their puppy legs while giving the alpaca their space as well. We Thank You for appreciating the needs of the alpaca and allowing us to stay Pet Friendly with No Fees. Our goal to make sure everyone is happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
34
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I had the most wonderful visit at Cobb Creek Cabins. Veronica and Jimmy made us feel right at home, and our little dog Rudy! The Bear cabin was our home for three very relaxing days where we had everything we needed. The cabin was very clean, the washer and dryer was a huge help for me and the spacious area in back of the cabin was a big hit with Rudy (and us as well!) Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvbird56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARACCC, Owner at Cobb Creek Cabins, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
The Bear Cabin is a very desired cabin. It has an awesome view of the Mom and Baby alpaca barn from the front porch. And a lovely view of Cobb Creek from right of your back deck. You can also appreciate the open field across the creek where we have a lovely tree farm, big vegetable garden another small fishing pond and plenty of room for nice long walks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I'm a solo female traveler, so feeling secure is high on my priority list. Staying in the charming little smokehouse cabin at Cobb Creek Cabins fits the bill. Veronica recommended her long-time auto mechanic to check out my car when the check-engine light came on -- quick and good service. I appreciate that this working alpaca ranch is basically environmentally friendly and that occasional groups of students take field trips there. I love the Smoky Mountains, and the cabins are perfectly located for me to join a local hiking group which has hikes scheduled several times/week. So staying here each summer is my goal.

Room Tip: There are large cabins for a family Thanksgiving as well as the cute little Smokehouse Cabin suitabl...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARACCC, Owner at Cobb Creek Cabins, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
The Smokehouse Cabin is the original 1861 log structure that was once dirt floor and flat roof where the Cobb Family Smoked their meat. It has been converted into the most adorable cozy one room "efficiency style" log cabin imaginable. Not sure you can stay in a more authentic log cabin. It has everything that all our other cabins have (except a washer dryer) but miniaturized. It has a love seat rather than a couch, a waist high fridge rather than full size, a mini microwave etc. It is tucked up along the big old farm house on the upper property and surrounded by evergreen trees. It is hidden in plain sight! When you sit on your very private back deck, you can see through the trees to view the pond, the alpacas, the lower cabins......but no one can see you! The Smokehouse Cabin is just perfect for one or two people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I needed an escape and was looking in the mountains. As a dedicated crocheter, I started looking for alpaca farms near where I was hoping to stay. I was very happy to find The Alpaca Ranch at Cobb Creek Cabins! Great reviews on TripAdvisor gave me the confidence to try it. I was not disappointed! I stayed two nights in the lovely Fox cabin. The cabin was wonderful and had everything I needed for a quiet vacation. I sat on the back porch and crocheted while listening to the creek burble and rush. Veronica is a wonderful hostess! We got along great and she happily introduced me to the herd (flock?). I was a single woman traveling alone and didn't feel unsafe at all. I definitely look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Fox cabin is the furthest from the street and closest to the stud barn. If you object to barn smells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARACCC, Owner at Cobb Creek Cabins, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Alpaca Yarn Yarn Yarn! There are 22 natural colors of Alpaca plus we do blends, and we tweed and we dabble a little with some organic dying. So many beautiful choices. And if you prefer already handmade items well...... Mom crochets and Jimmy T weaves! So in additional to all the lovely yarns, we have hats of all styles, scarfs a plenty, socks, ear wraps, gloves including fingerless, shawls, baby wares and the most gorgeous lap ropes you can imagine! We are happy to send pictures of our current treasures, just ask! And please send us pictures of your creations as well! All of our yarns and alpaca wares are labeled with the name of the special alpaca that provided us with their lovely fleece (also called fiber). We love to talk alpaca! And we love to have such wonder fiber artists stay with us here at The Alpaca Ranch at Cobb Creek Cabins. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

this was our first family cabin rental. We were thrilled with the cabin (Bear Cabin)--it was spotless, well stocked with everything you would need and very nicely decorated. Felt like home! The alpaca ranch is lots of fun as were the fishing ponds. It was a delight to spend time with Veronica and Jimmy T who both went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful experience. Location is great--close enough to adventure but still felt secluded for a nice, restful vacation. Will recommend to friends and family without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARACCC, Owner at Cobb Creek Cabins, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
The Alpaca Ranch at Cobb Creek Cabins is very convenient no matter which direction you are coming or going. There are so many choices whether you prefer hiking, fishing, golf, antiquing, arts and crafts especially the "fiber arts"! So many places to see and so many things to do including relaxing right here on this historic property and enjoying all the wonderful sights around a working and competing alpaca farm. Our alpaca are very friendly and we love to share our joy of raising them to anyone who would like to learn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our fifth visit to TARACCC - Veronica & Jimmy our hosts, always work tirelessly to ensure that our time spent in NC is great fun and this year we had the privilege of seeing one of the alpacas give birth! Go, Thunder's Echo echo, echo!! :-) not sure who worked hardest at the delivery, Veronica or Zuma!
We were in the fabulous Bobcat cabin and the peace and serenity of the area is always a great place to recharge the batteries and explore the beautiful N Georgia mountain region. As usual, Veronica steered us towards the best local restaurants and retail therapy.
For peace and quiet and a guaranteed warm welcome - stay at Cobb Creek cabins!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeilnCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARACCC, Owner at Cobb Creek Cabins, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
We are so fortunate to have guests/friends come from near and far. And there is no bigger compliment that the returning guests, to you we say Thank you! What a joy! We've met such wonderful people and they've become life long friends. Thank you for so many wonderful memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Last summer in late July I had family members visiting and found that my place was really too small for all of them. Cobb Creek Cabins is very close by so I took a chance by calling Veronica to see if there was a cabin available on short notice. Fortunately the Duck cabin was open so 2 family members and their Yorkie were able to have some space and still be very near to all of us. At the time other guests and Veronica were having a seafood boil under the pavilion and they were kind enough to invite my entire family to partake of a feast! What a treat that was. I would recommend Cobb Creek Cabins to anyone. The cleanliness of the cabins and the friendliness of the owners makes it a first class establishment. And the alpacas are just an added treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TARACCC, Owner at Cobb Creek Cabins, responded to this review, 23 November 2014
Our guests are the best. We meet the most wonderful people. We have a lovely covered picnic area that is just perfect for gatherings, planned or spontaneous! We also have a wonderful fire pit area down by the pond which is another popular gathering spot to enjoy the mountain sky where the stars seem so close you can touch them. Many cherished hours and many special stories have been shared pond side by the fire! Thank you so very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
5.9 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
233 reviews
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Murphy
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
18.0 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobb Creek Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb Creek Cabins

Property: Cobb Creek Cabins
Address: 106 Cobb Cir, Murphy, NC 28906-7108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Murphy
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to welcome you to The Alpaca Ranch at Cobb Creek Cabins located on the old Cobb Family Estate! As soon as you arrive you will appreciate the beauty of this historic property, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Upon your arrival, you will gaze out over our lovely Alpaca herd which can be seen from all six of our log cabins. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing