We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - a trail of ants, smoke filled "non smoking room, & lots of excuses.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Of Murphy
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid - a trail of ants, smoke filled "non smoking room, & lots of excuses.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I booked a non-smoking room. As I approached the desk I heard the manager say in a subdued voice to the desk staff, "Did you run the atomizer in the room?". I asked for confirmation that I was being placed in a non smoking room and told yes it was. The manager told me it had been smoking before but was now non smoking. (Huh?) I asked how long ago it had been non smoking and was told "a long time ago". So I went into the room which REEKED of stale smoke. I looked at the door where there was not a non-smoking sign. Other rooms did have this sign.
When I went back to the desk and told them of the smell and lack of sign they said that they just hadn't gotten around to putting the sign up yet. (uh huh).
I left the door open to vent the room for about 30 minutes, then discovered a trail of ants in the bathroom, at the opposite side of the room; I told them this and was told it was my fault for leaving the door open. The attitude was smug and extremely unpleasant. I would never go near this place again. I found a much nicer hotel nearby.
(Also the doors open to the outside and have no insulation around them so there is a cold draft under the door in cold weather).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
I do not understand your comments but am sorry that you had a bad experience. We have a non-smoking lobby so it should not have had any smoke odor. Please contact me and let me know which room you stayed in so that I can work with any housekeeping or pest control issues.
Thank you,
Aurelia Stone, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    93
    31
    10
    8
See reviews for
88
91
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Great place to stay. My other stays in hotels for business were in large chains that were also conference centers. I will look for Best Western hotels when I'm traveling for pleasure. I will also recommend Best Western to my family and friends. I will also use the Best Western hotel in my town when I have visitors.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joseph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After 18 hours of drivng and working I was given a clean and comfortable room. I simply could not have asked for anything better. The room was as good or better as some of the higher end hotels I have stayed at and a lot cheaper. The service from the check in counter was excellent and made things as easy for me as could be imagined. With food and restaurants in the immediate area I had a great stay away from home. Again, I couldnt have asked for a better place to stay with a staff that was always willing to help if I needed anything. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at Best Western because they except pets. I don't like that they charge a pet fee as some hotels do not. The location was great. Plenty of restaurants nearby. Plenty of parking. A great grassy area for my pup. Staff was excellent. Room was clean and I/we slept like a baby!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 752pamelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel provided everything we needed during our stay. We were traveling with our two dogs and their pet policy and charges were excellent. We checked out at 4AM and hot coffee was promised by the day person and it was waiting for us at check out. That was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank clady43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Mills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I never considered Best Western as a nice hotel, just a place to make a quick stop for sleep but we had a pleasant experience. It is not the Ritz but the staff was nice and helpful, the place was clean and I didn't get the heeby jeebies like I do at a lot of lower priced hotels off the side of the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for the nice review. You might want to take a second look at the Best Western brand. There are great strides being made in bringing the properties to a more consistant, clean, pleasant environment across the board.
I am glad that you felt comfortable at the hotel and really look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area. There are so many great things to do that you might just want to plan an extended stay in Cherokee County.
Again, thanks for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Convienient location for us Had everything we needed and was very clean. Loved their breakfast area, which was a separate area in an atrium. Internet service worked well. Receptionist very friendly. Located across from Walmart which was good for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BossLady_01, General Manager at Best Western Of Murphy, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And I thank you for the nice review. We do try to make our guests comfortable and welcome. Our staff works to have rooms that they would be proud to have their relatives stay in.
Again, thanks for the kind review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
18.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Murphy

Property: Best Western Of Murphy
Address: 1522 Andrews Road, Murphy, NC 28906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Murphy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a 54 room exterior corridor hotel located in the mountains of North Carolina. We are family oriented, pet friendly (w/small fee), biker friendly and love to make our guests happy. Located near shopping, rafting, biking, dining, hiking, and the Nantahala National Forest, we offer many nearby recreational activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Of Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy Best Western
Best Western Murphy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing