We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of Days Inn Murphy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Murphy
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Comfortable room and friendly desk clerks. There's an indoor pool and several restaurants within walking distance: Wendy's next door and Waffle King on the other side. We'll stay here again if we ever return to Murphy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snakebite_Survivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    92
    48
    20
    15
See reviews for
87
91
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Our stay here was OK. Clean shower, bathroom; handy microwave and refrigerator, decent beds and pillows. The very clean pool was especially nice after hiking up Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest trail. We had our miniature poodle with us. Most places charge $50, but the Days Inn charged only $10. The carpet felt sticky, but I think that is from multiple shampoos. There was a weird stain on the carpet;it didn't smell and wasn't particularly sticky, but seemed permanent, like spilled glue. The room was musty after being closed up, but that's pretty normal for any motel. The air conditioner was a bit loud. WiFi was free, fast and easy even in the last rooms. I would stay here again, especially at the price. Staff was friendly and helpful. Waffle King nearby had a good breakfast, and ShoeBootie's in town was less than 10 minutes away, and had great food.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

While renovating our mountain home in Murphy, I decided to be budget conscious and stay at the local days inn instead of the excellent Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express which I have stayed in before.
A very tired looking hotel room, furniture with holes where remotes used to be fastened, carpet that tells of many stays......airconditioning that reminds me of a Mack truck, and a "continental" of old coffee and old(er) donuts acompanied by several motor cycles starting up at 4 am in the parking lot in front of my window---I escaped to the Hampton poste haste, where I received the usual great service and accommodations.
The days inn? when inebriated and deaf...perhaps, otherwise do not even bother!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DUTCHANDFREE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Staff was excellent and rooms were clean Breakfast Bar was good

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneyman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Relying on reviews I booked a room at the Days Inn in Murphy, N.C. The carpet may have been cleaned but it was stained. The sofa had a cigarette burn even though the room was non-smoking, and the sofa still smelled. Anyone who rated this old, shabby hotel #1 must have been brain damaged after white water rafting. I checked out after 1 night and moved to the Holiday Inn Express, which was new, clean, and up on a hill off the highway.

Helpful?
1 Thank 3GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2006

Our stay at the Days Inn was surprisingly nice. The room was very clean. Although it was a smoking room, there was no lingering odor upon entering the room. It just smelled.... clean. There was a coffepot, but having a fridge and microwave was great. The beds were comfortable, but the pillows were pretty flat. We were close to the road and traffic noise was audible, but not to the point of being a disturbance. The staff were some of the friendliest I've encountered. Shelia, who oversees the breakfast is super nice and helpful. The cont. breakfast was ok too. A variety of cold cereal, instant grits and oatmeal, donuts, muffins, fruit, coffee, milk, juice, even a toaster for toast (with your choice of jelly or peanut butter).
There isn't a lot to do in Murphy, but it's pretty close to whatever you'd like to see in the area. And the views getting there are beautiful.

Not many restaurants, except for fast food. Overall Mom & I were very pleased with our stay here, and would stay again.

**Tried to upload photos several times.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, cleanliness, the view getting there.
  • Disliked — Flat pillows, not many restaurants.
  • Tips/Secrets — Just read the signs... you'll get where you want to go.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JRJ's Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murphy
2.8 mi away
Best Western Of Murphy
3.7 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
362 reviews
21.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Robbinsville
15.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Murphy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Murphy

Property: Days Inn Murphy
Address: 754 Highway 64 West, Murphy, NC 28906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Murphy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Murphy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Murphy 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Days Inn of Murphy is conveniently located to many restaurants, shopping, and downtown Murphy. Cherokee county is known for its outdoor recreational opportunities. Within just minutes, you can be at one of the two premier whitewater rafting venues. Or, try one of the several lakes or streams that offer great boating, swimming and fishing. How about going hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding or off roading? If none of these appeals to you, there are historic driving tours and plenty of picnic areas and several waterfalls to visit. We accept pets on a limited basis, with prior arrangements and a nightly fee. We serve a free continental breakfast, have free wifi in all rooms and provide a refrigerator, hair dryer and flat screen tv for your convenience. Our covered pool is open during the summer for a refreshing way to end your day. Whether you are here to relax or to enjoy our outdoor activities, Days Inn is your place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Murphy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing