We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Nearby Hotels
US$124
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
US$100
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owens' Motel(Nags Head)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Blue Heron Motel(Nags Head)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
276
168
86
65
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
168
86
65
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskocean frontthe outer banksroom was cleanwafflesthe breakfast areahot breakfastfree breakfastbiscuits and gravycleaning staffstaff was very friendlygreat oceanoff seasonbeach accessnorth carolinafamily vacationjennette's pier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel with a really fabulous location. The ocean view rooms have a spectacular up-close vista of the ocean and the (cheaper) bay side rooms have a very nice, less dramatic view with the bonus of panoramic sunset scenes. It is very convenient to the highway over to Roanoke Island as well as the entry to the Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Our room was spacious, clean, and with everything we needed. Television reception was poor - though who needs it with a view like that. We like to go to Nags Head in October. The weather can be perfect and the crowds much diminished. There is a very nice spacious deck on the second level where you can have breakfast (provided) or sit in the evening and enjoy the view. Especially well planned is that the access to the beach is also on the second level, and thereby you avoid parading your beach gear through the lobby to get back to your room. Staff were especially nice.

Room Tip: We had a top floor corner room, ocean side, and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artgallerygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from several days on the Outer Banks and our stay at the Comfort Inn. The people at check-in were friendly and full of tips. We had a room on the 7th floor facing the beach and the view was wonderful. We could have stayed on the balcony for hours just watched the beach and the people. The hotel is a little dated, but who cares when you have such a great location. The room was very clean. Beach access is easy from the deck of the hotel. The morning breakfast had plenty to choose and the staff kept it well supplied during a rush. The location make it easy to go south and enjoy the islands or north and enjoy all the people and activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach side. You pay a little more but it is worth it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncpeterson2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from a relaxing couple of days on the Outer Banks. Family mentioned the hotel because it was close to the house they were staying. The front desk staff was very friendly/helpful.. The housekeeping staff too. We had a clean room on the "parking lot" side that also had a good view of the beach and ocean. The free breakfast was better than most. All in all a good stay.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Evan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had a nice view of the ocean. I am handicapped so it is hard for me to walk on the beach but it was so nice to wake up every morning to just a nice view. Breakfast was good each morning but the eating area seemed crowed and very hot. The second morning they opened another sitting area after we had eaten. The girl that checked us in on Thursday night was very friendly and helpful. She was more friendly than the ones we talked to on Friday night. Room was fairly clean. Had a little sand and dirt in bathroom. But was very impressed with the number of towels and washcloths in room. So many hotels do not put hardly any towels in bathrooms.

Room Tip: 3rd floor had a nice view but you may want to ask if you are near the pet friendly rooms. Someone near us had a yapping dog.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Comfort Inn at Nags Head was a good place to stay. As the rates go, it was reasonable. The hot breakfast was a big plus. It was very close to the Beach. I did not have an Ocean Front View but could see the Ocean from my window. I did not think paying an extra $40 extra per night was worth it. The rate I paid on Sep 3rd was $90 compared to $130 had I wanted Ocean Front. The room was clean however the bathroom was very dated and had tons of caulk around the tub. I suppose too much is better than not enough. The bathroom floor could have been a little cleaner. The maid service was fair, our bed was not made up after the first night (spent two nights there) probably because we had pulled the bed spread up onto the bed but it was not made up.

Room Tip: If Ocean Front is important, be prepared to pay a little extra. Nice Deck out back to eat breakfast or just to sit and view the Ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews