We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VSO trip-2-8-14 through 2-9-14” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Madison Heights, Virginia
1 review
“VSO trip-2-8-14 through 2-9-14”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel was very pleasant to stay at. The VSO will be staying there next Feb. 2015.
The rooms were very clean. In walking distance of Jennettes Pier. Had a great time. The
staff at the front desk were very friendly. The breakfast was very good too. The winter rates
were very affordable. I will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    153
    77
    61
    60
See reviews for
181
221
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Got my room on Groupon so didn't know what to expect. But it was more than what I expected. Service was great and room was nice. Full breakfast was a plus. Would definitely use this hotel again.
I don't know what kind of site makes you write a review that has to be 200 or more characters. How crazy is that?














  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdareylf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here with friends on a birding trip and was very pleased with the whole experience. The front desk staff were welcoming and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable (nice new beds!) and because our group couldn't get the meeting room that we had planned to use, they moved us into the breakfast area and gave us free refreshments and beverages. Brandon worked very hard both times to set up for our evening meeting and then put everything back in place for our early morning breakfast!

Room Tip: Upper floors are best - we stayed on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor58087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Exactly what I needed ! Very reasonable and affordable winter getaway during a trying time for me. I had a 4th floor Double Room up close to the beach end and could see the sound as well as the beach from my window.The staff is very friendly and eager to make your stay a success for you and them. I will definitely be contacting them on my next visit to the OBX !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHPORT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Great hotel. Loved the ocean view. Room was clean and up to date. Staff was friendly and had great dinner recommendations. Easy to get to location. Will definitely go back when we hit the Outer Banks again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Comfort Inn is very clean with many recent updates. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed during a cold windy winter weekend which we spent birding at nearby refuges. We brought the spotting scope up so we could see birds over the ocean or huddled on the beach from the warmth of our room. The crescents of the moon and Venus were bright at sunrise. Dolphins were playing and surfing. They offer birder's rates.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room on one of the upper floors for the best views and most comfortable winter oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhorton3433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manns Harbor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is right on the ocean. It was built in the early or mid- 70's and was the Armada for years. Due to decades of beach erosion, it is the closest to the ocean of any motel on the Outer Banks.
It is still going strong. My wife and I came for a 2 day stay and due to circumstances ended up staying 5 nights. I also needed to return two nights later and chose to stay again. We stayed in 2 different rooms and I stayed in a third. All of them were very nice, very comfortable, clean, well appointed and the views are awesome. The winter rate was excellent! The internet was fast and always working. The breakfast area was clean and kept supplied (I only drink coffee for breakfast so I cannot speak to the quality. My wife said the eggs were cold one morning).
However do keep in mind that the motel is OLD. It has been renovated and is well done, but it is not "new."

Room Tip: Oceanfront view is wondrous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
9.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
8.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Property: Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Address: 8031 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing