We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes dated but a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This property is dated, yes. We have room advice as well. Let me tell you what saves this location. The staff are dedicated and friendly. The beach is excellent and expansive with a nice deck area for views.

The average (would have been a 3 or 3.5): The physical property is dated and reminded us of the late 80's. However, the rooms are very clean and this location is perfect with easy access to both beach and roads. Unless you are really hung up on fancy, don't let this in the rough location escape your interest.

Suggestions: Skip the breakfast and go to the grits place or something else close. 2nd floor is the main beach access and breakfast so heavy traffic. The ocean front rooms seem to have balconies but we were happy on the road side. Again, the beach access and frontage is phenomenal.

Room Tip: If you want extra quiet, go for above 2nd floor. Trash pickup at 5 AM can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captjacksprrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

I have to say that the ocean front view in the hotel is the one and only item I enjoyed in this hotel....we were there a week plus some and we had ac issues and other issues that sort of turned us off....I can say that when we contacted the front desk for items to be taken care of they were promptly tended to. It is a place to sleep after a long day at work but it needs a major face lift and for darn sure a scrubbing...also a thank you to the cute front desk girl Destiny (spelling?) to being very helpful to us in our time there. Over all not to shabby but not up to par.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jimhandy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Hotel is a bit "tired", but the room was very clean, beds were comfortable, and everything was in good working condition. The view from our ocean front balcony was amazing. Annie at front desk was a joy - very efficient and friendly. Pixie kept the breakfast area clean and well-stocked. Every employee we encountered was friendly and welcoming. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We couldn't find a better view with our room facing the crashing waves, but that's where the enjoyable part ended. We were overwhelmed with the smell of urine upon entering the room. The hotel was full so we couldn't move to another pet-friendly room, so we had to endure it for 48 hours. Everyone pays a significant pet fee, so there should be a carpet cleaner on speed dial if needed and if that won't do it, for crying out loud, replace the carpets. There was a lovely balcony, but there was a bottle cap, a used cigar butt and a clump of dog hair out there when we arrived--and it was never cleaned during our stay. The shower stall was rusted, paint cracked and peeling everywhere, and rooms were noisy. We're happy to have pet friendly rooms--but we shouldn't feel like we're staying in a kennel when we hear every dog in every room, continually. The front doors to the hotel open so slowly that you almost run into them even walking at a slow pace. The elevators are tiny and slow and the stairwells are dirty a heavily worn. There was a reasonable complimentary breakfast that was offered and the breakfast room was nice and at least that was roomy. Overall, the hotel was fabulously situated, but dilapidated in almost every way possible. We won't return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Upon arrival on Sunday May 18,2014 at 2:00 people were checking out right on up to 3:00. A conference so I quess that gives them the right to hold up the rooms. Check in time at 4:00. As we had a dog and I wasn't feeling well let them know would like a room asap. Was assured she would check and let housekeeping know. Didn't happen so had the pleasure of watching all these rude people checking out late. NOT. After in he room it smelled like wet stinky dog. My dog smells human. The bathroom sink looked bad the beds were awlful. No sleep for sure. The breakfast by far was the worst I have ever had in a motel that cost what this one does. I have to eat gluten free foods and their off brand plain oatmeal made me throw up with the first spoon. No flavors to choose from. So Tried eggs sausage and were nasty.Ended up with a banana and water for breakfast, Very disappointed is all I can say. The help were nice which is a plus but alot of the guest were so rude. Some people love animals some don't so if you don't ask for a room not on pet floor. There are few hotels that allow ur pet and its because some selfish people don't care for pets. My dog is small well behaved and potty trained and cleaned up her mess outside when she is finished. All I can say is I am so disappointed with this vacation. Be glad when Thursday gets here so I can go home. If you come here for breakfast I suggest u go elsewhere

Room Tip: ocean front is the way to go. worth the extra expense and if not a pet lover tell them when you make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiepearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent the night, was in town for a wedding. Very worn hotel, balcony door did not lock, paint peeling most everywhere, bathroom worn and dated. Needs a bit of help, I had even upgraded room to a ocean front. Would look elsewhere the next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynniepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stumbled upon the Comfort Inn South Oceanfront while looking for alternatives to our annual Myrtle Beach vacation. We're so glad we chose this hotel and the OBX in general. Staff were friendly and helpful and on arrival we were able to pay for an upgrade to ocean view (highly recommended). The room was pleasant and functional with enough room for the two adults and one child in our party. We found our windows to be dirty on the outside but put that down to the sand & ocean spray and cleaned them ourselves.

The hotel was well-placed on the beach and that became one of the big attractions for us. Quiet and relatively secluded, with Jennette's Pier just a short walk away, this made a wonderful change to the crowded beaches and streets we're more used to at Myrtle.

Mornings were the highlight for us, boasting some of the best hotel breakfast we've had along with the option of either sitting in the dining area or out on the hotel deck overlooking the ocean. The breakfasts (buffet-style, with choices of such foods as omelettes, eggs, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruit, bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, yogurt, home-made waffles, juices, milk, tea, coffee, etc) and view alone almost made for a reason to return themselves, and we're looking forward to going back in future.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra for an ocean front view, giving a better view and sunnier room. It a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
7.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
487 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,588 reviews
8.7 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,182 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn South Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn South Oceanfront

Address: 8031 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#4 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range: £47 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn South Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn South Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Comfort Inn Nags Head Nc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing