We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed indeed w. superb hosts”
Review of RelaxInn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
RelaxInn B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxed indeed w. superb hosts”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Eric and Margie are natural hosts who understand the difference between being warm and cordial versus trying too hard. My fianceé and I felt perfectly at home and had all the privacy we could want. RelaxInn is the perfect name for this excellent (and rare) B&B on the Outer Banks.

Room Tip: I would choose one of the upper level rooms on the Sound side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
104
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Just left the RelaxInn this morning and we miss it already! What a great stay we had. The entire inn is so clean and the owners are super nice and full of helpful information. The inn is one block from the beach, easy walking distance. They serve a delicious breakfast each morning. We felt very welcome and would love another visit soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scook112301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Well, we very much enjoyed your visit as well. Great reviews are always a welcome surprise for us. We do not have blocks here so we usually put things like that in yards. Relaxinn is about seventy yards from the beach and there is an aerial photo on the " About Us" page of our web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We went to vacation there in the middle of July and it was the best vacation we've ever gone on. Great location near great food(I've been craving Sam and Omie's since we left), right near the pier and the beach, so much to do, my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Eric and Margie are fantastic hosts and the breakfast was incredible. Very cozy, comfortable, clean rooms we we're lucky enough to spend time in two of them (the Captains and then the Birds of Paradise) and only positive things to say about both. We woke up early enough a couple mornings to walk up to their roof porch to watch the sunrise and then also a beautiful view of the sunset later in the day. They have a beautiful walkway to the pool and a great area for the hot tub. Beautiful flowers they have all around the house just make a beautiful environment even more beautiful. Eric and Margie made our vacation so much better with their restaurant suggestions and activities to do during the day. We would have been lost without their help. Whether it was to delicious unforgettable restaurants or to great things to do like the Sunset Cruise, Dolphin Tours, Para-sailing, they always sent us in the right direction. The other guests that were their during our stay were great. We loved our stay at the Relax Inn and will absolutely be coming back again next year. Thanks so much for an amazing stay and I can't wait to come back.

Charlie and Brianna

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any room selection! The two we saw at least I'm assuming the third i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

It's obvious that Eric and Margie really enjoy hosting guests in the RelaxInn, and that make a big difference in the enjoyment of our stay. The inn is clean and comfortable, and very close to the beach. Our hosts knew a great deal about the Outer Banks, and were ready with recommendations for terrific restaurants, and things to do when the weather did not encourage beach sitting. The swimming pool is clean and well landscaped, and the hot tub looked to be quite inviting. The ocean-view roof-top deck provided a lovely place to enjoy our afternoon wine and snacks, and the breakfasts were enjoyable, both for the quality of the food, and the conversations with our hosts.

We enjoyed a bicycle ride up to the Wright Brothers monument (8 miles each way), and a car ride down to Ocracoke Island which also included a free car-ferry ride.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson,NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was our first time to the Outer Banks and the Relax Inn. All was clean, comfortable and cozy. We felt very welcomed. We both wished we could have stayed longer, however all good things must come to an end. and there is next year

Thanks so much for your hospitality

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I wanted the perfect vacation in the Outer Banks and we found it! Eric and Margie run a WONDERFUL operation in a perfect location. We are picky travelers - having to deal with many hotels for our jobs. The cleanliness at RelaxInn is impeccable... I judge cleanliness according to how it compares to the thoroughness of my little Italian grandma - and we would have felt comfortable eating off the floor at the RelaxInn.

We booked the Captains Room for 5 nights. Breakfasts were always delicious and varied each day. Afternoon wine and snacks are also great. We especially loved the hospitality, the private pool, and the great hot tub. Much care has gone into building and maintaining this property and it shows everywhere.

The location is also idea - close to many great things to do on the Outer Banks. We barely drove 3 miles away from the property during our entire stay - and enjoyed great dining, reasonably-priced jet skiing, and, of course, the beach.

One couldn't ask for more gracious hosts than Eric and Margie - thanks again, and we look forward to returning!

Room Tip: All rooms are quite individual - we preferred the Captains Room since the entrance seems a little mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

After a long weekend spent at the lovely RelaxInn, I cannot help but compliment every aspect of this bed and breakfast. Eric and Margie were wonderful hosts. Kind, energetic, and amiable, they make any guest feel welcome within the first few minutes of arrival. They strike a balance between always being nearby and also providing guests with space and privacy. Both were willing to share their knowledge of the area and provide numerous suggestions for activities and meals. The bedrooms, bathrooms, and decks were incredibly clean and the linens smelled so fresh. The many outdoor decks (with terrific views), tranquil pool, and gorgeous flowers and plants created an outdoor oasis. The breakfasts were delicious, warm, and plentiful; including coffee, juices, yogurts, fruits, and main courses, ranging from omelets to breakfast casseroles. Also, the blueberry muffins (one of Margie’s specialties) were absolutely superb.

In addition, it was the many “little touches” that combined to make this a standout place to stay during a vacation. Eric and Margie have thought of everything a guest could want, even before a guest realizes what they want: the availability of umbrellas and beach chairs, the presence of outdoor showers (to help remove sand), lights which illuminate walkways and stairs at night, an outdoor breakfast nook, mid-afternoon wine and snacks (perfect when returning from a day in the sun), and private entrances to each room, just to name a few, make the RelaxInn an ideal place to stay during a trip to the Outer Banks.

So, if you are looking for a wonderfully comfortable and relaxing place to stay, where every need is met before you even know you want something, the RelaxInn and hosts Eric and Margie are undoubtedly the ideal choice.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,513 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
178 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
852 reviews
8.3 mi away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RelaxInn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RelaxInn B&B

Property: RelaxInn B&B
Address: 8008 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959-9488
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your stress behind and come to our oasis where history and natures beauty captivate your mind and spirit! Take a glass of wine to the top deck and enjoy the breath taking sunset or allow the serine breeze to play across your face. The sunrise is a treat to watch along with the waves breaking on the shore in the mornings???. Take a night time dip in our lighted pool, or relax in our bubbling, therapeautic hot tub. The RelaxInn is Ocean side on the beach road about seventy five yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing