We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing at home and dreaming of RelaxInn.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RelaxInn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
RelaxInn B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Colliers, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing at home and dreaming of RelaxInn.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

So, it's been a busy week since returning from our getaway at the RelaxInn. Today is a beautiful sunny day in the mountain state of West Virginia and as I sit in my backyard, soaking up the sun and admiring the wonderful view, every time I close my eyes I start dreaming of the RelaxInn and the wonderful time and great hospitality we were blessed to have experienced while there. I want another afternoon relaxing by their pool or on the deck outside our room, or sitting on the front swing, chatting with our gracious host to learn more about an area that has become dear to our hearts over our years of vacationing in OBX. We picked up an extra night at a local hotel before we left town, and while the hotel was beautiful, clean and had all the amenities you could ask for, as we entered our room something was lacking. I think it was the warmth of our hosts and our fellow guests at the RelaxInn. Would I recommend RelaxInn, absolutely. If you like warm, friendly people, good conversation, "spot on" tips for dining, a convenient location, yummy breakfasts in the morning, light snacks in the late afternoon, then the RelaxInn will not disappoint. If you prefer large expansive rooms with somewhat cold walls, you might be surprised at what you've been missing. Relax, breath in the sea air, enjoy those around you and be joy-filled! Thank you, Eric and Margie for a wonderful time at the RelaxInn! We hope too see you again and may you be blessed by many joyful visitors to your cozy, peace-filled B&B.
Rejoice always; 1 Thessalonians 5:16

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30for30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
103
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Frankly would never stay here again. Was really unhappy with the service- they didn't even make our beds! It looks like they cleaned the bathroom between nights but other than that nothing else was tidied up. Additionally, the AC was "on" but i was still quite warm while sleeping and had no way to adjust the temperature which was annoying given we paid close to $200 a night to sleep there...

For the price you pay -even if you include the "free" appetizers/wine (which we never saw evidence of) and breakfast (which we were told would take an hour or so to have)- it isn't worth the money considering you can get something for the same price with a far better location to the bars/restaurants in Kill Devil Hills, etc.

On top of that management took the privilege of charging our card for a "stain" which was left by us. We are completely fine paying - what we found completely ridiculous (and bordering on illegal) was that they charged us without any warning or proof of the stain. And while we appreciate the initial email from them saying they noticed the stain, there was a) NO proof that we left it and b) nothing in the email referenced that we would be charged. So, we were totally surprised that after we emailed them back (before the charge was placed) asking about whether we'd be charged we were then ignored and then that night found a pending charge on our credit card. I therefore am putting their service as TERRIBLE- i've never ever witnessed such poor business practices in my 10+ years of work/personal travel.

I travel for work extensively and have NEVER stayed at a place that put charges on our card without warning. On top of that, the management was flat out rude/argumentative when we called and we were hung up on once. After I told them that their place wasn't that great and referenced the lack of bed making the owner replied to us with "well you weren't that great either". Uh, ok. way to be mature.

In summary, I would never go back and don't recommend this place to anyone who may be clumsy or want a clean room to come back to at night. The room itself was OK but shares a deck with other people which is awkward to say the least.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UNC2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Frankly we never want you to come back. When we caught you rummaging through our private owner areas we should have ask you to leave but instead we ask if you needed something, you said you needed a wine opener. The other stuff you made up contradicts the other ninety nine reviews here at TripAdvisor, and we will leave it at that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

By far the best accommodations my wife and I have had on any trip. Eric and Margie offer excellent hospitality and great advice for dining and activities. Plenty of amenities from the cozy room (bodie island light), to the pool and hot tub, to the full home cooked breakfast every morning. On the beach that is a short walk away we observed schools of dolphins out in the ocean on our third day here! Our stay was outstanding and it was great to meet such a wonderful couple Eric and Margie! Perhaps the best part of staying at the Relax Inn was the great conversation at breakfast that you don't get at a hotel. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who like a relaxing and fun time at the beach and appreciate hosts that go above and beyond.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clint B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

May 22-25, 2014. My husband and I had a great time at the RelaxInn B&B to celebrate our 3 Year Anniversary. We stayed in the Birds of Paradise room and enjoyed a comfortable King sized bed, spacious sitting room area, and clean bathroom. Although the accommodations were nice and the sunset view from the observation deck was amazing, the best part about staying here was meeting Eric & Margie. They were wonderful hosts during our stay, recommended some great places to eat (Miller's Waterfront Restaurant, Sam & Omie's Restaurant, and Fat Boyz Ice Cream), and gave us some cool places to check out during our stay (Jennette's Pier and Bodie Island Lighthouse). The beach and restaurants were in walking distance and we enjoyed a nice dip in the pool. We even got up early one morning to catch a beautiful sunrise on the beach and saw a school of dolphins swimming right under the sun -- WOW! In regards to the breakfasts served -- the food was absolutely delicious! The breakfast options were fantastic: omelettes made to order, breakfast casserole, fresh fruit, homemade strawberry muffins, and stuffed French toast. Around 5:30 pm, Eric even served us some yummy cheese, crackers, grapes, & wine for an early dinner snack. The RelaxInn itself is very cozy and convenient to many places in Nags Head. We definitely plan on coming back to visit in the future. A big thank you to Eric & Margie for being great hosts, who we now consider our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oibwed2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I just returned yesterday from a vacation in Nags Head and a six-night stay at this wonderful B&B. I want to say up front that there were a lot of good things about staying at the RelaxInn, but the best thing about it was being able to meet and spend some time with Margie and Eric. It was like going to a beautiful beach resort and staying with friends, friends who shared their knowledge and love of the area with you, but also friends who gave you the privacy and consideration that made your visit truly relaxing and comfortable, a set-your-own pace place to be. In short, Margie and Eric were great! And the house itself is very nice and in a perfect location for whatever you might want to do. Spend a day at the beach? Cross the street! Eat a number of good restaurants? You can walk to several and take a short drive to a bunch! Explore the Outer Banks? It's in the middle of them! Or maybe you just want to relax. We stayed in the "Captain's" room on the side of the Inn that faces the ocean, and every evening after our adventures and explorations, we kicked back on the covered porch and relaxed, read our books, sipped wine, and watched the world go by. I think I know where they came up with the name for this place! Oh, I almost forgot. The breakfasts were great! They just got a little out-shone by the hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveG4108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricTNagsHead, Owner at RelaxInn B&B, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Dave and Barbra

It was our pleasure and guess what. After your visit Margie and I were talking about what wonderful guests you were and we came up with a new slogan that we just put on our WEB site: it reads.
You register as guests but leave as friends.

We will maintain this kind of confidence throughout our tenure as inn keepers at Relaxinn

Eric and Marige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth TX
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

September 25-29, 2013. The RelaxInn is a great place to stay - it is a very short walk across the street to the ocean and Jennette's pier. We stayed in the Captain's room and it was very roomy, clean and had lots of storage. Eric and Margie are wonderful hosts. Always available to do anything that would make our stay more enjoyable. Breakfast is fit for a king and the 4pm 'snack' is just what you need for a new burst of energy.
The hot tub was GREAT! The pool area is lovely and very relaxing. RelaxInn is centrally located and we went north one day to see the Spanish horses and south the next to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The B&B is very close to many wonderful restaurants.
We could not have been happier with our choice and highly recommend you check it out.
Mary and Tom

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a private entrance - we loved the Captain's room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have been coming to the OBX for 29 years and this was our first time staying at a B&B in Nags Head. We wanted to just relax and that is exactly what our B&B host made sure of. Their attention to detail was outstanding. We also enjoyed the homemade breakfast every morning and the great conversation with the other guest and host. This is also the first B&B that offered afternoon wine and refreshments......and we made sure we tried them all ;) If you want a very clean, comfortable, and enjoyable stay in the Outer Banks you must stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelia Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RelaxInn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RelaxInn B&B

Property: RelaxInn B&B
Address: 8008 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, PO Box 1654, Nags Head, NC 27959-9488
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave your stress behind and come to our oasis where history and natures beauty captivate your mind and spirit! Take a glass of wine to the top deck and enjoy the breath taking sunset or allow the serine breeze to play across your face. The sunrise is a treat to watch along with the waves breaking on the shore in the mornings???. Take a night time dip in our lighted pool, or relax in our bubbling, therapeautic hot tub. The RelaxInn is Ocean side on the beach road about seventy five yards from the beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing