We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Nags Head B&B and Inns
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“almost great”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

There is a lot to love about this place. I would describe the atmosphere and decor as "funky chic" - bright and cheerful, and full of local color. We, all three of us, including our Cocker Spaniel, Pearl, warmed up to it immediately. Mike and Princess made us feel welcome. The wine and cheese set out for us certainly helped! It is true, as has been reported by other travelers, that the location is ideal. After all, if you don't love beaches, why go to the Outer Banks? Something Fishy, the gift shop next door, is great fun, filled with all kinds of wonderful kitsch. We stocked up! Sadly, there were a few glitches. First of all, if the lap of luxury is what you require, the Sandbar is not for you. It's laid back, and we do enjoy laid back. Still, the appeal of laid back has its limits. In that regard, two complaints: First, the beds and pillows were uncomfortable. Second, in spite of informing Mike that we wished our room to be made up, AND doubling down with a written note, we returned from a day-long tour of the OBX to find that it had not. In fact, there was no indication that anyone had been in the room. These things are important to us. So, if the lap of luxury is what you require, the Sandbar is not for you. If, however, you are prepared to go with the flow, the Sandbar is a warm and friendly place of memorable local character.

Room Tip: The only pet-friendly room is the Mermaid, which, pet or no pet, we would choose if we were to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courcierwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    9
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

What a great experience! My wife, I, and our dog got away for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything we needed was provided, including breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese. Couldn't ask for anything better, plus great restaurants within walking distance! Will definitely keep this as our first option for future trips for get-aways! Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C_and_M_23510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsett, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My Mom and I recently stayed at the Sandbar B&B for a girls' weekend in Nags Head and we had the most wonderful experience! This place really is a hidden gem in the OBX. Tom, the innkeeper, was super friendly, helpful, kind, and very accommodating. He made our stay so enjoyable thanks to all of the great advice he gave us regarding the area, local restaurants, sight-seeing opportunities, etc. The rooms were very comfortable and the place as a whole had so much character. It really felt like a "home away from home." It truly made for a weekend to remember....we would stay here again and again and again! Definite two thumbs up!

Room Tip: I would suggest staying in any of the rooms here....they are all great. It just depends on what size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savannahgal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Owner (Beatta) refused to refund deposit for (impossible to use) Tuesday reservation immediately following the Saturday landfall of Hurricane Irene. The Outer Banks on Tuesday - flooding, damaged roads, no electricity in places, and the ferries were overwhelmed with emergency response functions. Reason that Beatta (twice) refused refund: "canceled within 10 days of reservation." Poor character.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JennaM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandbarInnkeeper, Manager at Sandbar Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Everyone at the Sandbar Bed & Breakfast Inn prides themselves on exceptional customer service. Like all hotels, we do have have a cancellation policy if the cancellation is made within 10 days of arrival and policy in the event of mandatory evacuation of Nags Head.
When a mandatory evacuation of Nags Head was issued on Friday due to Hurricane Irene we have cancelled all reservations for that period of time and have issued refund to all guests.
The above guest supposed to stay at our Inn 3 days after the hurricane landfall. The mandatory evacuation was lifted a day after hurricane landfall. The Outer Banks were in position for vacation at that time. We were in constant contact with Emergency Management. The electricity was running, the roads were not damaged. We were very fortunate that we did not get much damage. In fact we had guests staying at our Inn the night following the hurricane landfall. We have ensured above guest that everything on the island was back to normal and that it was safe to come and stay at our Inn. But the guest decided not to come. This was guest only decision. Despite that we have refunded her charge.
Our guests are our number 1 priority. Our mission is to make Nags Head your favorite vacation spot and we proudly stand behind that!

Beata Faulkner, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I was really excited to stay here, but was disappointed. It's a great location and Tom is very nice and accommodating. The beach closet with towels, chair and toys is great. It's so nice to have a fridge for leftover or sandwich fixins for beach lunches.

The rooms need a good cleaning, there is a lot of dust on the door frames and even on the walls. The white carpets (probably not a good idea in the first place) are stained and dirty. The white sheets had little stains on them too. The towels were small and thin. The breakfast is pitiful - you can get a better breakfast at the Hampton Inn. It just boxed cereal and frozen muffins and doughnuts bought in bulk and thawed out in the mircowave. Some homemade muffins or coffee cake or doughnuts from Duck Doughnuts would be an improvement - something a little special. I can pack store bought doughnuts in my suitcase.

Lastly, the walls are paper thin. We went to bed at 10 our last night there since we had a long drive home the next day. We could hear people running up and down the stairs all night and Mike (the owner) had people over, who were loud and walking around the floor above us. Not a great way to end our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bearcatgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessMD
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We planned our trip to the Outer Banks two weeks before we went, which is unheard of for the summer, I know! Got it as a birthday gift for my boyfriend. He has a puppy whom we both love and wanted to come to the beach with us, and I'd heard OBX was very dog-friendly. However it was tricky finding a beach that let dogs on the beach during the summer months, as well as a dog-friendly hotel. Seemed many locations had one but not the other. I found Sandbar and grabbed literally the last 3 days they had available in the whole month of August!

We couldn't have asked for a more hospitable stay for a totally spontaneous vacation. We arrived in the evening at 7pm. Mike, the owner, greeted us and showed us around the property. He lives on the 3rd floor of the house but he's often out and about during the day and extremely laid-back. He couldn't have been more welcoming to us and our pup. And the house dog, Princess, is a total sweetheart.

The property: There are 3 rooms for rent, and they are all extremely well-kept and clean. They don't change the linens every day unless you ask them to but they are more than happy to oblige. There is also a washer/dryer that you can use at any time, and plenty of bath towels and beach towels for your use. The refrigerator is always stocked with soda, bottles of water, yogurt, and other snacks that you are free to take (unlike the nasty a la carte crap at a regular hotel!) They also have a few bikes for their guests to use whenever, so you don't have to rent one. There is also a small fenced in pool that you can use at all hours, and our dog was allowed to hang out as well. Couldn't have asked for a better setup.

The staff: Tom, the innkeeper, is the one you'll see the most. Very nice gentleman, insists that you call his cell phone for anything, and prepares breakfast every morning and wine/cheese in the afternoons. He will also make reservations for you at all the popular places to eat, just to make sure you get extra special treatment :) Rosa helps with cleaning and changing the linens, etc, and Beata, the manager, is next door at Mike's gift shop, Something Fishy, which is where you will go to check out. Everyone is very kind, professional, and polite!

Location: the website speaks for itself. Sandbar is literally across the street from the beach, and despite our going during peak season, we never had to compete for space on the sand. There are rolls of poop bags by all the trash cans in case you forget one for your dog, and everyone on the beach loved meeting our pup!

Other fun things to do: outlet shopping, Jockey Ridge State Park (a mile from Sandbar - you MUST go to see the sand dunes!), Sooey's Carolina bbq joint, Collington Cafe, Kitty Hawk Flight Museum, and other stuff we couldn't see on our short trip. Ask Tom or Mike about any of these and I'm sure they'll hook you up.

We've stayed at many bed and breakfasts and I'd venture to say that this one was by far the best, if only because we could bring our little pooch along for only an extra $15 a night. That's cheaper than kenneling him for the weekend, and this way he got to see the beach for the first time. Won't be the last - we'll definitely be back and likely will stay at Sandbar again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same, depends how many people you're traveling with, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcanum, OH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My family stayed here the last week of July, 2011. Loved every minute. Sandbar is in an ideal location - minutes to get your toes in the sand, just across the road and within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Tom is so nice and helpful and there to answer any questions and has a plethora of knowledge on the Outer Banks. Mike and Princess are great too and we envy his life!! I recommend the Mermaid Room because it has a deck over looking the pool and comfortable beds and a nice bath with separate shower and jetted tub. You have to check out Something Fishy (more than once) and we found they have the same if not better souveniers than anywhere plus you get a discount as a Sandbar Guest! Tom and Mike and Beatta were there when you needed them, but let you do your own thing. Would go back here in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Mermaid Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeM11OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
3.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
Comfort Inn On The Ocean
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sandbar Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2508 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9248
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandbar is a three story beach cottage in the heart of Nags Head. The inn features three guest rooms, all on the second floor, and is just across the road from the beach. Restaurants, shopping and art galleries are within walking distance. Local attractions are all close by. The owner lives on the third level with his dog. The inn is managed by Beata Faulkner. We delight in pairing comfortable rooms with southern hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing