We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than expected”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
15 reviews
Queen Palm Unit B
King Palm Unit A
Prince Palm Unit D
Princess Palm Unit C
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
17 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 38
Nags Head, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patty L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roaches!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cinco Palmas has the potential to be a very nice house but it is not clean and not properly maintained. Roaches were a huge problem in the main house. They were in the kitchen, living room, outside, everywhere. Huge roaches! We killed many of them daily in the kitchen on the kitchen counter. When we made the mistake of leaving a pizza out on the counter, it was infested with roaches within a couple hours. When roaches came out from under the couch, we moved the couch and it was filthy with food under the couch. They did come out to exterminate while we were there, but there were still plenty of roaches. Also, the stove was broken all week and although they came out twice to fix it, they ordered the wrong part so it was not fixed while we were there. In general, the house was not clean which is probably why the roaches were so bad. I do not recommend this house to anyone.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
350Michel...
Blackwood, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 for a stay in August 2013
4
people found this review helpful

After booking this rental, my daughter found some very negative reviews. So needless to say we were a little nervous. Thank goodness these reviews were so over exaggerated! The property was perfect for us. The only issue we really had was that the one bungalow could have been updated a little better. The main house and the other three bungalows were perfect. We would have rebooked for 2014, but the dates we needed were unavailable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
73Mary
DC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place - you will not be disappointed :)”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were concerned after reading the reviews from last year, as we already gave a deposit. After touring the place we were not concerned. We had our family reunion there and made use of all three houses. We were happy with the properties and did all of our dinner meals at the main house. One of the showers in the other house wasn't draining, but the property manager got it serviced right away. I also dropped my cell phone in the ocean and had a replacement UPSed to me overnight and it made it to the house, even though there is not a postal address. The property manager even offered to accept it for me if they could not deliver to us. the pool was nice. We saw dolphins early morning in the ocean on the first day! The only minus...the flat screen tv in the main house upstairs needs an HDMI cable to use the DVD player. We did not watch a lot of TV, it was the last night of our stay and just opted to use the tv downstairs. An uncle got stuck briefly, in the elevator of the main house, but we used it just to load and carry bags. We're an active family, including my grandmother,so it wasn't necessary for us to have dedicated use. And it worked the rest of the time for those that did use it. It was a positive memorable experience for us compared to previous reviews, and anything that was amiss, they responded to right away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beach, the pool, the main house kitchen,
Liked least: no real complaints.. an HDMI cable is an easy fix
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Darby
Reviewed 7 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
robhainin...
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Pretty terrible house – rental agency mostly unresponsive to problems.”
Reviewed 14 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

My family's been vacationing in the Outer Banks for most of my life – this is the first house we've stayed in that I've been so disappointed in that I've felt the need to leave a review.

The house has two outer buildings, each with two apartments. One of them smelled like mold or rotten fish, such that noone could bear to spend a minute there, let alone sleep there. Lots of things were broken – the ceiling fan in the main room, missing remotes, etc. The pool was missing a legally required alarm, so parents were constantly worried about their young children getting to the pool without supervision. There were stains all over the houses, dead mosquitos on the wall. The linens were kind of gross, some of the comforters seemed like they hadn't been washed in several years. The a/c didn't cool down the main floors of the houses below 80ºF. The house was able to sleep the whole family (28 of us), but there only enough glasses or flatware for a small portion of us.

The biggest problem of all was that the rental agency was mostly unresponsive to our problems, or if they did respond, they were barely helpful (e.g., they added some freon to the a/c, but it barely helped).

Overall, we're pretty disappointed at the house, the owner, & Outer Banks Blue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach-front property, housed our entire family.
Liked least: House is barely functional.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2012
Dear Mr. Haining,

Thank you for your comments regarding Cinco Palmas. Obviously we are disappointed in your characterization of Outer Banks Blue being unresponsive during your stay. As you know we spoke with you on a daily basis during your stay, and either our rental manager, operations manager or other managment visited you on multiple occassions during your stay. We of course fixed each issue that you identified to us, but we were unable to provide you the refund of rent that you were seeking.
We have of course fixed the door alarm, and the air conditioner is also working properly in the property. The sheets and towels are replaced weekly of course so we are not clear on your concern there.
It would seem that there is a bit of miscommunication between your own group, as we dealt with Catherine during and after your stay and she was appreciative of our efforts to keep the large group of your family satisfied during your stay.
We apologize for falling short in your eyes during this stay, and look forward to a better stay next time.
All the best from the beach!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M S
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We just returned from a stay at Cinco Palmas with my extended family (28 of us -- ranging in age from 9 months to 70 years old) and were disappointed in both the house and Outer Banks Blue Realty's response to our concerns. First of all, the downstairs of the outer house closest to the street was inhabitable during our entire stay due to an awful odor. We are still not sure what it was but it was very fish-y. OBB had a cleaning crew come out on Monday but it did not help. The upstairs of the outer house closest to the street did not have a fully functioning air conditioning unit and the temp remained about 79 degrees all week. Both of the outer houses had a moldy, damp odor and several of us who stayed in them had allergic reactions. None of the outer units or the main house were clean upon arrival. There was sand and dirt on the floors which would have been easily cleaned up had anyone swept and mopped it. Also, the furnishings in the outer houses are very dated and did not feel like they had been well taken care of.

Significantly, the alarm out to the pool was not functioning the entire week we were there. This was a major concern for us since we had several children under the age of 5 and was a direct violation of state law for the owner.

Also, the air conditioning on the upper level of the main house never seemed to be working up to par. My husband replaced the air filters in the main house and one of the outer houses and bought a fan for the upstairs of the main house which seemed to help.

We communicated these concerns to 3 different Outer Banks Blue rental agents multiple days during our stay and very few of them were addressed. From what we were told, the owner lives close by and has his own maintenance crew that responds to concerns. I don't know if things would have been different if the Outer Banks Blue maintenance crew could have responded or not. We finally saw the owner's maintenance man on one of our last days but he was not able to do much.

Needless to say, we will not be returning to Cinco Palmas and would not feel confident using OBB based on this experience either.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing