We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It serves its purpose!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It serves its purpose!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I'm not trying to knock the place- it serves its purpose... But the rooms are small, dated, didn't feel or look clean- there were lots of flies both dead & alive! The bathroom is so tiny you have no elbow room to hardly shower... The staff was exceptional- very friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powwow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    22
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
25
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A quaint little courtyard-style motel a little south of Jeannette's Pier, get one of the 7 oceanfront rooms if at all possible--your feet are in beach sand almost as soon as you clear the double doors and the view is wonderful. Contrary to some reviews, they *do* have shampoo available upon request, they just don't put any in the bathrooms. The pedestal sink doesn't provide much shelf space, perhaps they should consider adding a small shelf on the window side of the sink. Loved the genuine finished pine panelling on the walls and ceiling, a great change of pace from the painted drywall in most hotels. Be sure you unlock the deadbolt on the front door before you hit the beach in the mornings, we didn't first time and got to wait outside until the staff arrived to let us back in even though we had the room key. Not a bad place to wait outside, and we were more than ready for breakfast at Miller's by the time we could get there.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is always our preference, but they only have 7 so reserve one early if you can. We'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theophylus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed just for one night but wish it were for several nights. Old courtyard style motel and very well kept. Oceanfront rooms walk out directly on the beach, sand at your door step!! The staff was most accommodating. Probably the best in a long time. Will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 29...so if you end up in this room expect no sleep because the a/c unit is old and rattles the entire time. By the time we returned from dinner and a movie the office was closed and we could not ask for another unit. Also since we had to leave at 745 a.m. the office was still closed and
I could not mention our a/c dilemma to the staff. The room was very small, no extras...like shampoo. Room was clean and we could not hear any of our neighbors but that could have to do with the horrible a/c unit. Also our room looked nothing, and I mean nothing like the one shown so do not get your hopes up. However the hotel has a perfect location with the beach within a 3 minute walk from your actual room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyLeeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Public Relations Manager at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We at the Dolphin are sorry your stay did not meet expectation. We have a variety of rooms with different locations. Our oceanfront are the most popular that literally open onto the beach. The property itself is oceanfront, so immediate beach access. We are happy to make your stay better in anyway including providing shampoo, etc. We do hope you come back and see what makes DOlphin a favorite oceanfront hotel in Nags Head!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

we love this place. It was my husband myself and grandson. The management Jim and Wanda are the nicest people and always meet our needs. room was great.. cool clean We stayed oceanfront this past week and always meet the nicest folks. Housekeeping always met our needs and if there were any ammenities we needed simply Just ask.We love the remodel especially the sliding glass doors. It works perfect if you have small children. I have checked other places and by far this is the best place. We will be back in September. Thanks again Jim and Wanda!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharoningle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks so much for the great feedback. We appreciate repeat business and we look forward to seeing you later this summer at the DOlphin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Shabby and basic, this motel has seen better days. But this is the Outer Banks, so rooms that would go for, say, $45 anywhere else go for $110, and these are among the cheaper ones you'll find in the area, especially with beach access. But that $110 buys you nothing but a very basic room and a couple bars of soap. No amenities beyond the absolute mininum - no free coffee, not even a little packet of shampoo. TV (a museum piece non-flat screen) had fuzzy reception and the air conditioner had issues (luckily we didn't need it). Office is closed from 9pm to 9am.

Our room also had dead bugs on the floor, as if someone had sprayed recently but hadn't swept up afterwards. Other than that, it was reasonably clean. I note that some reviews here refer to nicely re-done rooms so it is possible that we got stuck in an "bad" room and they have better to offer.

I don't mean to sound too negative, the place was adequate, and other places not much better we looked at were going for $150 and higher.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KyleMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Manager at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
We at the Dolphin Motel pride ourselves on top guest service. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We do provide shampoo on request. We have begun transitioning to HD flatscreen TVs starting in our oceanfront rooms, and plan to change more next season. We pride ourselves on offering clean, affordable oceanfront rooms in Nags Head and do hope you will give us an opportunity to show you that on your next Outer Banks vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Room smelled horrible! Window AC very loud and didn't cool well. Comforters on bed had stains on them. Very small room. Bathroom very, very small and not clean. Tile floors had stained grout and looked like mold. TV didnt work. Manager stood outside of our room smoking and was NOT nice. You could hear EVERYTHING in the room next to us. Old washing machines and junk sitting around parking area. Parking was bad!! Looked like they were trying to remodel rooms right on the ocean but other rooms are HORRIBLE!!! Stay away from this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l0vet0travel22_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
We are sorry you had an unpleasant experience at Dolphin. We pride ourselves on having clean, affordable oceanfront rooms. July is our busiest month and most crowded, so we hope you can come back and see us and try one of our newly remodeled oceanfront rooms that open right out onto the beachfront. Dolphin has been a favorite for families for generations, and we continue to look for ways to improve the guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
9.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#9 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Oceanfront Motel

Property: Dolphin Oceanfront Motel
Address: 8017 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Dolphin Oceanfront Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing