We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go anywhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolphin Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Go anywhere else.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked through Booking.com for a short get away. We needed to leave early, and I asked the manager if he could adjust our bill. He told me Booking.com would not let him.

Booking.com told me that the truth was he could have refunded us. They called him several times afterwards, but he would not refund the last night we were not there. I believe Booking.com. The owner and his mother kept telling me that there was nothing they could do. I was lied to. I have a feeling the owners are used to situations like this.

It was a small, cramped room. My clothes still smelled like the room when we came home - moldy. Air conditioner so loud it woke us up at night. Sand pouring into the bathroom window. Cigar butt near our front walkway. All walkways full of sand, and never swept. You can smell people smoking in the next room. Walls so thin you can hear every word.

Don't go. Go to the Comfort Inn next door - or anywhere else.

Room Tip: Don't go. But if you do, only book an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotraveleurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We recommend our guests book directly through the property. We offer the best rates without the middle man/ someone in a call center. It also provides us more flexibility when it comes to making changing to your reservations. Our cancellation is limited when booking through 3rd parties.

We are a Nags Head style motel. We provide guests with friendly service, clean, comfortable and affordable rooms that are oceanfront. We continue to look for ways to improve our property - as we have made numerous upgrades each of the past offseason and continue more in the coming years. We do hope you give us an opportunity to show you why we have been a favorite beachfront motel for generations of Outer Banks vacationers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    22
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
25
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a last minute getaway choice for the weekend of October 5-6, 2013. The price was very reasonable. This hotel is not a new luxury hotel, but fills the bill and serves its purpose. If you want to spend all day in your room, then this is not the place for you...the beach and ocean are at your doorstep. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. As other reviewers have noted, the parking lot is in tight quarters, but anyone who can drive worth a darn will not have any real problem.

We think the rooms are intended to be smoke-free, but the hotel certainly has ashtray buckets outside the rooms, and so you will see cigarette butts here and there, but we think the staff keeps the area clean.

If I had any complaints, it would be that at night the parking lot and outside lighting shines into the room through the blinds, making the room brighter than I would have liked during the night. but we didn't have any trouble falling asleep, and we slept well. The air conditioner was a bit quirky, but we did not suffer and the room was adequately cool and comfortable. There is a mini-refrigerator in the room. the shower stall is a bit tight, but has great water pressure and plenty of hot water.

The Dolphin hotel does not pretend to be a Hilton or exclusive Bed & Breakfast,..it is one of the oldest single floor family hotels still on the beach. We found the accommodations to be adequate for the price.

The Dolphin hotel is literally right on the ocean front: Just a short walk and you will be dipping your toes in the ocean. The beach re-nourishment work in front of the hotel makes it very nice. Jennette's pier, and other attractions are very close by. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

Lots of fishermen and families were staying here, so you'll see boats and truck in the parking lot. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a clean reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeNC_LRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and I had a difficult long week and needed to last minute getaway and we use to live in OBX so I started calling for rooms and everything was booked. One of the hotels suggested this place and reviews were mixed but I just wanted to be on the water so I booked it. I did not sleep well the first night room was very dirty, smelled of mildew, there were cigarette ashes on heater vent, long black hairs throughout- including in the sheets! We slept with all of our clothes on- it was very late when we arrived and we were exhausted. We went down to the front desk in the morning (had to wait until 9am when they open) he was very nice but not at all surprised, first question he had was if we wanted to leave.....there were no other hotels with rooms available and we wanted to stay at the beach so we stayed. He moved us to another room that was much cleaner, smelled better, sheets still had stains on them but were clean. Hotel is right on the beach we literally walked two doors down and around the corner and the sand was between our toes. You can walk to Sam and Omie’s, the new pier, and 7-11 if need be all just a 2 minute walk so location was good price was only $99 a night so that was super cheap. I was shocked that he did not offer us a discount after we told him what happened but he did not. They do not seem very concerned about up keep or customer satisfaction. The other thing was bad was the parking, no room at all we were worried we would get towed for having our car parked like we did but it was still there in the morning. UGH! Beach was beautiful hotel was not even the lobby smelled of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mimi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, General Manager at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We appreciate your feedback, and are sorry you did not have a pleasant experience at the Dolphin. We are committed to top customer service and the cleanest rooms on the Outer Banks. We aim to provide affordable oceanfront rooms in the classic Nags Head style, with rooms at you can literally open your door onto the beachfront.

We have numerous offseason renovations planned for the property, and do hope you will come back and give us the opportunity to show you why the Dolphin Oceanfront Motel has been a favorite Outer Banks motel for generations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Similar and close to Seafoam. For a fair or even a low price, you are literally on the beach. This place doesn't seek to compete with modern luxury and their prices reflect this. My only problem, and this can be an asset for some people, was that it is animal friendly. We did notice some fleas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xbriankramerx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Dolphin Oceanfront Motel does offer pet friendly rooms to guest who like to bring their pets to the beach. We do thorough clean following all pet stays to ensure clean, affordable rooms for all our guests. We have many renovations planned for 2013-2014 offseason and hope to see you back soon at the Dolphin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheswick, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I just want to let ya'll know that the Dolphin Oceanfront Motel and it's courteous staff not only met but EXCEEDED all of our expectations!

Another SUPER Plus is that this ocean side beach that is DIRECTLY out the front door of your room is AMAZING. and, the beach is, unlike most tourist beach rentals areas, is VERY, VERY private and there are only a handful of people on the beach on any given day!

A rare and delightful experience.

Thank you to Jim and his lovely wife for a lovely family vacation at the ocean!

Room Tip: We had the Efficiency room that includes the refrigerator, TV, Microwave, kitchenette and 2 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King and Queen
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have stayed at the Dolphin many times. Our experiences have always been positive. The location couldn't be better and Jim and Wanda are wonderful! It is a great place to come with family, friends and pets!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

I'm not trying to knock the place- it serves its purpose... But the rooms are small, dated, didn't feel or look clean- there were lots of flies both dead & alive! The bathroom is so tiny you have no elbow room to hardly shower... The staff was exceptional- very friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powwow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
9.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Oceanfront Motel

Property: Dolphin Oceanfront Motel
Address: 8017 S Old Oregon Inlet Rd, Nags Head, NC 27959-9487
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dolphin Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Dolphin Oceanfront Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing