We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean necessities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Oceanfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphin Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean necessities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect for what I needed.
Tile floor, odd... But perfect for wet and sandy coming from beach.
Minimal amenities. Only fridge.
I paid for a nice clean room for sleeping on the beach. That is what I got. Friendly feel, nice location.
I didn't want to stay inside at a ritzy hotel. If I had, I would have gone there.
You have a great place here.
Note from other reviews. There was no smell of must or mold. If that was a problem earlier, it has been remedied by now.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank readhead1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    22
    15
    6
    12
See reviews for
24
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Floor in room not level, no towels on arrival, no clock/ alarm, no hair dryer, ants, door don't seal, can not lock sliding door that goes to beach. Paid for oceanfront had to walk around due to door that don't lock. Barking dogs next door and nothing was done and could not get reimbursement to leave early. And they charge for ice! Not worth over $850.00 for 3 nights!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcherij2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nags Head hotels

Newport News, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My daughter and I had a short weekend vacation. I booked the motel for a two night stay. The motel we got was very minimal accommodations, two double beds in a small room, one small bathroom with a stand up shower, a TV with no DVD player attached, and a small fridge. We had expected at least a microwave. I was told that only the ocean front rooms had microwaves and there was only one room with an efficiency. I was mislead with price as well; on email I was informed to be starting rooms at 129.00 a night but when I called the man quoted me 149.00 a night with a 10.00 per night pet fee. I think the amenities need to be clarified. I understand that it's a motel but really, in this day in age a micro should be standard. It said it had wifi, but I couldn't get it to work

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Management offered me the oceanfront upgrade and I'm glad I took it. These rooms are the most updated (but remember this is still a small, old, family-run OBX motel), offer direct access to the beach (walk out your sliding glass door) and are worth the extra $$. Just a low-key OBX hotel, nothing fancy but definitely provides a value. Yes, this is not the Hilton or Ritz-Carlton -- but you aren't paying those prices either (at least not if you book through Hotwire). You're probably not going to be in the room that much, anyhow!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front -- direct access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kiki723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Guest, thank you for your feedback. Dolphin has been a favorite Nags Head style for decades. We pride ourselves on offering the cleanest, affordable oceanfront accommodations on the Outer Banks. We continue to look for ways to improve our guest experience, and have completed extensive exterior upgrades this offseason. We have more planned for the coming offseason. We look forward to having you back next summer (or sooner)!

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lady Lake, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

THIS PLACE IS A HEALTH HAZARD. THERE WAS ALWAYS THE SMELL OF GAS AND SMOKE...perhaps coming from people having bonfires on the beach? I unfortunately have asthma and could not breathe. This is the WORST motel I've every stayed in.....a total waste of money. Our 25th anniversary was completely ruined by these ignorant people.We complained about the mold in the room from the old window a/c unit that leaked, the flies on the walls, the dirty bathroom and carpet. The tv didn't work well, alot of static. All the rooms on the sides face the parking lot instead of the beach. There was no water pressure... and a dirty old plunger beside the toilet as it would back up and not flush often. The so-called owner said, "you did this to yourselves since you booked online" What difference should that have made? Even the towels were a dingy yellowish brown in color. There were other guests in the parking lot blasting music at 6am. Please don't waste your time or money on this place. The management doesn't care about customer satisfaction at all. Go to The Comfort Inn or Nags Head Inn that are in close proximity.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c4given
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't have a better experience at the Dolphin. We pride ourselves on offering the cleanest room, best customer service, and the most affordable oceanfront rooms on the Outer Banks. We have been a favorite for families, fisherman, pet lovers, and more for generations. Certainly we deal with the environment from being literally on the beach, but we maintain our rooms to a high level of standard. We do hope you give us another opportunity to show you why guests return to the Dolphin Motel year after year vs a national chain. We have many exciting things in store for Dolphin the coming years, including TV upgrades, bathroom renovations, and more.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, this is an oceanfront motel, but it is in terrible disrepair. It essentially has no parking lot, the doors are warped, the rooms are filthy, and though it claims to have a "private beach" they certainly do not maintain it. For $199 a night BEFORE taxes, I suggest heading to a much nicer establishment on the beach with a popular name you can trust. This is nothing more than a flea bag hole in the wall that just happens to have a spot on the ocean itself. What a waste of money!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishred1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Totally overpriced. The property is perfectly located, the staff is very nice, etc...BUT! The room is NOT worth more than $45 per night: very damp, heavy mildew smell, the tap water is very weak, although the shower is very good in terms of water pressure. The electric sockets are so old that even a small charger falls out...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are continuing to renovation and improve the hotel and the guest experience at Dolphin Oceanfront Motel. We have made extensive exterior improvements, improved digital cable service & free WiFi, and have made select hotel room upgrades this year. We have plans for more updates in the coming year, including more flatscreen TVs, renovated bathrooms in select rooms. We do hope you give us another opportunity to show you why we have a been a favorite "Nags Head style" motel for over 40 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
9.7 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
8.6 mi away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
7.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Oceanfront Motel

Property: Dolphin Oceanfront Motel
Address: 8017 Old Oregon Inlet Road, Nags Head, NC 27959
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Oceanfront Hotel Nags Head
Dolphin Oceanfront Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing