We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place on the beach”
Review of Blue Heron Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nags Head
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Heron Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great family place on the beach”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've stayed at several mom and pop places on the beaches of NC and this one was the cleanest ever. Great family friendly motel, no riff raff. Nice and quiet, big room, all ocean front rooms with a fabulous view of the ocean sunrise. Yes the rooms are a little out of date but they're really clean and big. Bonus view of the sunsets over the sound from the front porch! They have a lift for your luggage if you need help getting it up to higher floors. The staff is super nice too. Thanks Pam for being so nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveDs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    72
    24
    6
    5
See reviews for
54
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

I've been going to obx since I was 3. Wish I had found this gem sooner . Pam and staff are so friendly !! Everything is so clean and the view off the balcony is great !! I go to the outer banks May & October and have been staying here the last 5 years .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obxkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We just left so I'm writing everything down before I forget. I was worried that this would be a Sea Foam debacle (ugh) but I was very pleasantly surprised. I felt safe, comfortable, clean, and woke up to sunrise on the ocean - soo relaxing! Its bare bones, no frills, no breakfast, no toiletries, hair dryer, but the microwave looked brand new and the mini fridge was bigger than expected. Lots of light, huge window and comfy balcony with chairs and small table.
Pros : Right on the beach, short walk, great indoor pool and hot tub, small outdoor pools, good parking, close to a bunch of shops/restaurants, great staff, HUGE room, comfy beds
Suggestions : bring your own towels for extra( they only provide bath towels, no pool or beach towels), if you prefer your pillows fluffy, bring them, they are flat, bring your own soap/shampoo, get the second or third floor room for the views - worth it, pay the deposit and then some - we were 3/5 paid off by the time we got down there.
It was a little noisy but its busy season, its expected :) It really was relxaing and super comfy, will be back again soooon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooterlynn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Well now, do I begin with the amazing sight/smell of cigarette butts that sit like little white lies underneath the "no smoking" signs? Could it be the dated bathrooms that test your ability to maintain a zen state while navigating a tiny, steam-filled space that offers no fan to vent the humidity? Unless you want to put your clothes on in front of the rest of the members of your family (and who doesn't!), you HAVE to stay behind the closed bathroom door because there's no other area to dress in. FUN is struggling to put clothes on your sticky humid body!!

Could the old Blue Heron charm lie in the erratic, low-speed wi-fi connection? How about the lack of hooks to hang up wet bathing suits and beach towels? The teeny-tiny bathroom towels that fit around a toddler (we checked), but not normal sized kids and adults (we checked)? Perhaps it lies in the smoking gauntlet you have to walk past to get out to the beach? (bonus: cigars!) Or perhaps it's the fact that the smokers ALWAYS seem to be the first ones out on the deck at the end of the beach walkway makes it a test of your breath and nose-holding prowess?

On the plus side, this motel does have some advantages for the price; you're right on the beach--so very easy to get there; 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have balconies that overlook the ocean; 2 small outdoor pools, and a small indoor pool that's nice for cool evenings.

To sum up, this motel would be so much better with a few small permanent changes: no smoking anywhere on the premises (except for a designated smoking area to the side of the building--not the pool side--that won't bother anyone); good fans in the bathrooms; high speed internet access; and a small changing area next to the bathroom that has hooks and/or shelves for the clothes you're changing into). People would probably even be able to forgive the teensy towels if these changes were made!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kahn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Happy...simple, clean...wonderful!
Look past the dated decor at wonderful views...happy friendly front desk...great location!!!
Watched the sunrise from your bed...love it!!!

Will go back gain. I can see why families come back year after year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We tried this hotel out for our last night on the outerbanks. The rooms were large and very clean. Every room is ocean front so that was a huge plus! The swimming pools were very clean. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlr5979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a perfect hotel for someone who is looking for a reasonably priced, oceanfront place to stay in the Outer Banks. There are a minimum of services (no breakfast, restaurant, or elevator), but the rooms are very clean with daily maid service. The décor was a bit dated, but not at all rundown. The carpeting in the bedroom was not worn, the bedspreads and draperies were cute and covered with seashells, and there was adequate lighting. The bathroom was very clean. The tile was baby blue, but everything looked freshly painted and grouted. Only soap is provided (no shampoo etc.) but most people bring what they prefer to use with them anyway. The bath towels were very small. Don't count on wrapping one around you for privacy. We had a room on the third floor and the view from our balcony was spectacular. We would sit out there with a glass of wine in the evening and just relax. There is no elevator, so plan on carrying your luggage up 2 flights of stairs, but if you can manage that it is well worth it. After all, quite a number of the people coming here will go on to climb over 200 steps to the top of the local lighthouses. My only complaint was that the free internet was so weak that it was virtually useless. That might be because of our room location. We were far away from the office. Parking was never a problem, and the Blue Heron's location was convenient to shopping and restaurants. There are also indoor and outdoor pools.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the climb up the stairs, the third floor was spectacular ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spdwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nags Head
0.2 mi away
Surf Side Hotel
Surf Side Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nags Head
1,513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
178 reviews
8.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Owens' Motel
Owens' Motel
#13 of 13 in Nags Head
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Motel

Property: Blue Heron Motel
Address: 6811 S Virginia Dare Trl, Nags Head, NC 27959-9121
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Nags Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nags Head
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nags Head
#5 Family Hotel in Nags Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Hotel Nags Head
Blue Heron Nags Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing