We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Average Tourist Trap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dirty Dick's Crab House

Dirty Dick's Crab House
Ranked #33 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dirty Dick's Crab House is all about the FUN...in fact, the only thing we are serious about is our seafood - fresh seafood served daily!
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An Average Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I found this restaurant to be very average. I was expecting to be blown away, but I think I was turned off by the slow service, and mediocre food. Our waitress was very attentive, and the staff was very accomodating of my wife's food allergies, but it took way too long to get our food to us. The prices seemed inflated to me. For food that was just average, I found this to be annoying. I have a general problem with a place that sells you one pound of crab legs for an all-you-can-eat price (which they do not even offer). I guess they think they'll fill you up with the carb-loaded hush puppies. The signature food was undoubtedly the cheesy grits. Everyone in our party agreed that they were tasty. I'm glad I experienced it, but I wont be back. There are much better places in that area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyPiGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    95
    50
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Over priced poorly cooked food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

We stopped for dinner since we were starving. We ate the BBQ pulled pork and BBQ chicken since the seafood was so over priced. The meat was dried out and tasteless. The corn was so tiny and over cooked. Keep driving!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Xenawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good, very unusual name.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Good food, good Service, crazy name, looks like they recently redone the place. Very clean
Good place for seafood

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could use improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Mixed reviews on this one, I had the crab on texas toast, with cheddar cheese melted on top and it was very good. Others ordered seafood where the scallops were not cooked. When they were returned to kitchen , they never returned until we asked for check and said just take them off. It seems the manager told them to fix fresh order but did not tell them what to do with them. No excuse, The restaurant did give us a big discount and were very sorry for the confusion. I would try them again, some not so much, Great gift shop though

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSemonco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a wonderful luncheon at Dirty Dick's. The Shrimp and Grits and Shrimp Creole were delicious and bountiful. The menu is incredible. The service was great and the prices are inline with the area. The place is fun and clean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OlgaandTomGauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Dick's Crab House also viewed

Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dirty Dick's Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing