We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious chowder” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armstrongs Seafood

Armstrongs Seafood
Ranked #34 of 80 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Latham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We weren't sure if they would be open as we were looking for a place and it seemed like a lot of places had closed. The best chowder I've had and the crab balls were yummy as well. A great meal and as a visitor from Upstate NY, I was excited that the Union hockey game was on (congrats to them!) We had a nice conversation with the guy who was working and I love supporting family run restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sammistar509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    31
    2
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome shrimp, awesome scallops, awesome service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We looked all over the outer banks for a good seafood place out of season that could cook us up some great seafood to go. This place was the best. The lady and her son who took care of us were awesome. It was not over priced, and the shrimp and scallops we got were delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tommycash1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oquossoc
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood....crabcake and chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I were passing through Nags Head on our way to Corolla....we usually check TA before we stop into restaurants that we are not familiar with.....but Armstrong's looked kind of busy...so we pulled in. We were warmly welcomed (a Southern greeting) and after we were seated the server sat with us and went over the menu making excellent suggestions. We both ordered the homemade corn and crab soup (bowl, not cup) and crab cake sandwich. The food was served on paper plates....but was excellent (we grew up in Annapolis and know crab cakes!). And the fries were served hot!! Not a formal setting by any stretch, but a fun, local, friendly atmosphere. They even had Fox News on, not CNN!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RangeleyCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Friendly seafood supplier in Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We spent the Christmas week in a vacation home in Kill Devil Hills and purchased fresh fish, crab cakes and clams from Armstrong Seafood several times. They were very friendly and helpful and even managed to get a whole snapper for us at our request. We enjoyed all our purchases, including the two Teriyaki sauces (Veri Veri Teriyaki, and Teriyaki Wasabi). If you prefer not to cook yourself, their lunch specials are extremely good value $6.95 for a choice of clams, shrimps, fish etc. complete with fries and a drink.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UKBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Trip Advisor brought us to this restaurant but the food and Dirt, the owner, brought us back for a second visit. Little to ad to the other reviews about the food and pricing except to say, thank you to the previous reviewers. Only a handful of restaurants seem to be open in November on Monday in Nags Head and fortunately, Armstongs was one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grandparent05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armstrongs Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Armstrongs Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing