We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and billiards”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Drum Taphouse

Red Drum Taphouse
Ranked #16 of 81 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and billiards”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First, if you run cold at all, bring a sweater. They keep it freezing inside and both kids and I were freezing. But the service was good, and the food also quite good. We went early to use a coupon and were seated immediately. There was a line out the door by the time we finished eating.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LacyB0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    147
    33
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Rockfish, Mac & Cheese, and Craft Beer”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We went to the Red Drum on a Tuesday night. We opted to eat at the bar. They have a very intriguing selection of draft beers that would interest any craft beer aficionado.

For dinner, I had the rockfish special that came with a skewer of barbecue shrimp, creamy mashed potatoes and green beans/carrots. All were excellently prepared. My wife had the Mac & Cheese which is unlike any other version of this dish. Shrimp and bacon were in this Mac & Cheese...very flavorful.

The bar staff provided great service. The barmaid prepared an excellent rum runner for my mate. I had the Natty Green Buckshot Amber Ale.

A great evening!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BucksCountyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern lancaster county
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Food is always consistent and staff is friendly. A little on the pricey side, but, hey, you're in OBX!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jestermike164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I got steamed shrimp and veggies, delicious and my husband had the tuna. Both dishes were fresh, and very good. My only negative comment would be my pre dinner cocktail was very weak, should have gotten a glass of wine. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pugmug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbard, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place - always a trip favorite”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a chance to watch the World Cup final at Red Drum on July 13. Enjoyed some beverages and fun company at the bar during the game and grabbed a booth for dinner afterwards. Had the mushroom swiss burger, which was fabulous. My husband had the steamed shrimp and vegetable platter - LOVED it. Such a nice staff, prices are reasonable and always one of our "go to" places on the OBX.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgm820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Drum Taphouse also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Red Drum Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing