We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Drum Taphouse

Red Drum Taphouse
Ranked #17 of 81 Restaurants in Nags Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Saturday night 730 and only had a 20 minute wait, not to mention staff is smiling and helpful. I ordered the rock fish crawfish plate and it was possibly the best crawfish I've ever eaten. Will recommend and come back to this place next year.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    147
    33
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best wings on Outer Banks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We always eat here on our trips to the Outer Banks. The Wings are to die for. Other appetizers are good too, and the beer selection is very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Va
Level Contributor
268 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“enjoyable but average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

The calamari appetizer was good, and we ordered their red drum chowder. I should have asked first, but there was bacon in it and we don't eat meat, pork, etc. Picking around the bacon worked and the soup was good. We both enjoyed the Caesars salad with blackened salmon which was good as well. Be prepared for a noisy atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11Limited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Great local bar / restaurant with Theresa as our server seafood steaks and burgers well worth the stop

Helpful?
Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We ended up here after being down the road at another restaurant that told us it would be 30 minute wait with it having just opened. We were seated immediately at Red Drum and server very friendly. I opted for the Tuna special and husband ordered crab cake special. Tuna was prepared perfectly. As a matter of fact, my husband kept taking bites from plate. It seemed tuna was better option than crab cakes. The place had excellent variety of beer. Would eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank XelaChivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Drum Taphouse also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Red Drum Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing